My Grandma <3

My Grandma was my person. She was my best friend. The one person who believed in me more than anything in this world. On Saturday night she went home to be with Jesus to see Grandpa on his birthday. 

The Friday night before she passed I sat there with her holding her hand. I sobbed telling her I just wasn’t ready for a life without her. I told her how much it meant to me that when I felt like no one in the world loved me, I always knew she did. She responded with, Tali you made it so easy to love you your whole life. We continued to talk about anything and everything. All down to her engagement ring and how my Grandpa had sold a calf to buy it. I told my Grandma to close her eyes and have a rest and I would sit there with her. She smiled and said Tali I don’t want to lose even one second with you. When I left she kissed my cheek and told me she loved me so much. 

Looking back, I am so glad she stayed awake and we talked because that was the last time I spent with her. It was an amazing conversation that I’ll hold so close to my heart for the rest of my life. 

My Grandma was the best Grandma there ever was. Sleep overs at her house were the absolute best, she’d let us sleep in her bed and in the morning she’d make us whatever we wanted for breakfast. (Even if that meant making something different for me, my brother and sister. Including French toast cut in four with four different toppings, homemade porridge or whatever else we felt like.) 

My Grandma knew how much I needed her. I would regularly get calls to go out for dinner with her, and we’d spend the night talking. Everything from my classroom to boys to life in general. But mostly boys. My Grandma knew more about the boy status in my life than anyone else. She truly just wanted me to find the love of my life and have the wedding of my dreams (which she always said she would make sure she’d be at). And one day, when I do get married I know she’ll be there. 

I am going to miss my Grandma more than anything in this world and I truly don’t know how I will get through some days without her. Tonight we will be surrounded by family and friends as we celebrate her incredible life here on earth. As hard as it’s going to be, I know my Grandma lived an absolutely amazing life. But boy am I going to miss my Grandma. 

“Oh I’m in pieces, it’s tearing me up, but I know, A heart that’s broke is a heart that’s been loved” – Ed Sheeran 

– tal xo

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=bIB8EWqCPrQ 

One thought on “My Grandma <3

  1. I happened to somehow come across this on facebook, I am so sorry to hear about your Grandmother. Your story has really struck a cord with me. My grandmother passed last October and she was my person too. I’m getting married this September and I can’t stop thinking about how much I wish she was going to be there! She always told me she would be there whether I wanted her there or not lol! I know deep in my heart she will be though!

Leave a Reply

