What have you accomplished in the past 10 years…

So I was at the gym after work yesterday, running on the treadmill, thinking.  (I mean, who’s mind doesn’t just go crazy, with a million ideas and thoughts when you’re running? Mine sure does. If I could manage to do life, while running on the treadmill, I’d be one successful billionaire!) And previous to the gym, I saw someone mentioned something on Instagram about what they did 10 years ago. And I thought, 10 years ago seems like yesterday. (Especially since 10 years ago I was 17, and in my head I still consider myself 21…so, 17 really was just yesterday.) Until, I stopped and really thought about it. 

As quickly as the past 10 years feels like they’ve flown by, it’s really quite amazing what all I’ve done. Sometimes we don’t give ourselves enough credit. We don’t ever focus on our accomplishments but instead everything we have yet to accomplish. 

If anyone would have told me ten years ago, at the age of 17 everything I would accomplish by 27 I would have been blown away. Graduate highschool, complete two post secondary diplomas, land a permanent position with the school board, buy my very own first home…& everything in between. 

Why can’t we ever pat ourselves on the back? Be proud of ourselves instead of just proud (& maybe even jealous) of everyone around us. We all really do do some pretty amazing work in life, and it’s cool to stop and think about it. 

We always live life wanting more. More time, more money, more success, more more more. But it’s important to pause and take in what we have, in this moment and appreciate it. Although there are all kinds of things I think about daily that I want in my life, I also need to remember how great my life is this very moment. 

What have YOU accomplished in the past 10 years? 

– tali xo 

Leave a Reply

