What’s up Wednesday

It’s Wednesday everyone, which means it’s hump day! I’m not going to lie, all summer long I never knew what day it was, nor did I really care. To me, there was no difference between a Monday and a Friday. But, now that I’m back at work I’m all about loving hump day! I mean who doesn’t? Half way to the weekend everyone. 

Everyone always asks me questions about my gluten free baking. I can honestly say I’m much more of a cook than a baker. I would way rather bring an appetizer to a party, then a dessert. But when I do bake, I love me some brown rice flour. It is by far the best gluten free flour to bake with. I generally don’t do many substitutions from regular recipes to make them gluten free. I just replace the regular flour with brown rice flour. 

These muffins are absolutely delish. Last night I made them into banana blueberry muffins, but you can add chocolate chips instead or just make plain banana. 

Blueberry Banana Muffins

Ingredients:

-1/2 cup coconut oil (melted & cooled)

-1/2 cup sugar 

– 2 eggs 

– 3 bananas (the browner, the better)

– 1 tsp. baking powder

– 1/2 tsp. salt

-1/2 tsp. baking soda 

– 1 1/4 cup brown rice flour 

– 1/2 cup fresh or frozen blueberries 

Directions: Melt coconut oil, add sugar, add eggs and add bananas. Mix. Add dry ingredients. Do not over mix or it will dry the mixture out. Bake at 350F. Takes about half an hour. Baking time can vary based on different ovens.

These muffins are so delicious, such an easy snack to add to yours or your child’s lunch. A great thing to make for breakfast if you have guests over. Or to pack along if you’re going away for the day. 

Along with cooking and baking, I have also just been loving Epiphany in Elora. Everytime I’m on Mill street, I of course have to pop into this store. Here’s an outfit I put together for a bachelorette on Saturday all from Epiphany. A super cute black lace romper as well as black boots. 

Sunday morning we went to church for kick off Sunday which meant there were food trucks (and games) there. Yes that’s right, I said there were Food Trucks at church. How amazing is that?! So before going to get my Sunday Starbucks latte after church, I got to enjoy some butter chicken nachos! 

Even more important than the nachos, was the message our pastor gave. He reminded us, the past is the past, the future is the future. Live in the present, focus on now. Not yesterday, not tomorrow but now. I know we all hear this over and over, but listening to him talk about it for an hour really made me stop and think. Don’t forget to forget the past, not worry about tomorrow and focus on the now.

– tal xo 

2 thoughts on “What’s up Wednesday

Leave a Reply

