Perfectly Imperfect 

As I was going to sleep last night, I came across another very interesting article. It’s funny how these super intriguing, thought provoking articles always appear right before I close my eyes and hit my pillow. It’s like they’re specifically put before me to read, right exactly when I will have so much time to lay there and think about them. If I read an article in the morning, I’m off to teach, watch and maintain a classroom of 30 five year olds so not much soul searching, deep heart thinking will be happening. If I read it right after work, I’m on my way to the grocery store, then yoga and a Parker visit. But right before bed…I have all the time in the world to think.   Life is an interesting thing. We all want perfect. Perfect husband, perfect family, perfect house, perfect career, perfect body, perfect hair…perfect everything. But why? Why does everything need to be so perfect? Wouldn’t that make life incredibly boring?   

 The way of social media these days, has made it way too easy to both search for perfect as well as appear to be perfect. His face?? Nah not so perfect, I think I’ll swipe left. No way, look at that guys lips, definitely left. He works at McDonalds? Ew, left. 

But what’s perfect? You’ll only know perfect when you try. Everyone’s perfect can be so different, and you’ll never know what will make your life perfect until you put yourself out there, and see how it makes you feel. 

All I want in life, is true, raw, totally imperfect. Wouldn’t it make life that much better?   I want to be head over heels happy in a mess of imperfect, in whatever life throws my way. Take it all in, accept it and love it. 

If things aren’t going your way, don’t run. Accept it, deal with it and grow from it. Nothing makes life better than learning from mistakes, accepting the unknown & enjoying the imperfections. 

“Don’t focus on the past or you’ll miss the future.” –Fairy Godmother

– tal xo 

Leave a Reply

