Cooking in the Condo!

There have been so many blog posts on decorating and style, that I have left you guys totally hanging in the food and recipe department.  But don’t you worry, even with the new condo I have absolutely not forgotten about cooking! Since moving into the condo, I have been absolutely loving being able to cook whatever I want, whenever I want with as much gluten free food as I can dream of! Living with my parents, it was amazing coming home to home cooked meals. But how do I put it nicely…my dad is picky. Extremely picky. Like I’m talking will NOT eat anything out of the ordinary. If it’s not meat and potatoes, he’s not interested. And he doesn’t just keep quiet and eat the weird food, he complains for hours about the food. So now that I’m on my own, I never have to cook potatoes (ok that’s a lie. I had to on Sunday when he was here for dinner) and I can cook up the weirdest looking food and have no one complain!! Sorry mom, you’re stuck with him!  

Fun facts: my dad consistently calls Kale, kelp and will absolutely not touch quinoa, and..he once sat down to a homemade mac n cheese casserole and within one bite knew it was gluten free pasta. And don’t even think about serving him cilantro, or as my dad likes to call it, dog shit. 

I’m going to have to invite my mom over for dinner at least once a week so she can have her fill of weird food. 

Here are a few of my recent meals…& btw the sushi, is not homemade. I ordered take out for that meal, but like come on, when would I ever been able to order sushi for dinner with my dad?! The pasta is a simple veggie and shrimp stir fry mixed in with gluten free pasta, a little olive oil and some mozzarella goat cheese. The chicken is just baked chicken, corn (frozen that I saved from corn on the cob in the summer) and a big yummy salad covered in fresh veggies. Seriously so simple and easy but delicious meals.  

  
   I always try to not snack at night. After dinner it’s best to not eat more food. But…with that being said…Wednesday nights are survivor night. The one reality show that I still watch and love. And survivor calls for a snack. So I bought a popcorn maker at Canadian tire, this way you can control the healthiness of your popcorn by either adding no butter, a tiny bit or a lot. I enjoy homemade popcorn with a tiny wee bit of butter, some sea salt and a glass of ice water with orange essential oil. Who says you can’t snack healthy!   Get into your kitchen and start cooking creatively. Don’t be scared, if you mess up…who cares! 

“The only thing predictable about life is its unpredictability.” –Remy (Ratatouille)

– tal xo 

Leave a Reply

