Love Well…Look Well…Eat Well…

As I sat down ready to write this blog post, I realized something…I haven’t shared any new recipes in a very long time. I think fashion started taking priority over food and was over powering the blog! Which lets be serious, there is absolutely nothing wrong with fashion taking priority over anything…but balance is important, so how about we add a little cooking back into our lives.

recipes8

To start, I would just like to mention that for any of you gluten free peeps out there I hit the jackpot today. I went into Green Valley, the health food store in Elmira, and was looking for the brown rice flour that I always buy. Pre packaged in a little bag that costs $5 and lasts me only a few recipes. But today…walking through the store, instead of going straight to my usual spot, I was looking around. I found a BIG bag of brown rice flour, in bulk for only $9!!! I brought it home and when I poured it into my Tupperware container that I keep flour in, I realized just how big the bag was. I got a ton of flour, for such a good price. So if you’re in the area, and wanting to try out a new gluten free flour, head to the health food store, Green Valley in Elmira across from Shoppers.

With this flour that I bought and was oh so excited about, I made Blueberry Banana Muffins. And let me tell you, they were delicious. (for all you non GF people, who are saying ya right…gluten free never tastes good. I’m telling you, they taste good.) But, feel free to substitute the GF flour for regular flour if you so desire.

Blueberry Banana Muffins

recipes

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 bananas
  • 1 3/4 cups brown rice flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 cup frozen or fresh blueberries 

Directions: Cream butter, add sugar, add eggs and add bananas. Mix. Add dry ingredients. Lastly, fold in blueberries (do not over stir or blueberries will break and bleed into the batter). Bake at 350F for 30 minutes. (check with toothpick, may require a few extra minutes. if making a loaf instead of muffins may take closer to one hour.)

And since I have been lacking in providing you all with recipes, I will be extra nice on this hump day and give you one more! While talking to some girls at school in the staff room, we all decided how much we love hummus. It’s great to dip with veggies, or eat on crackers and has amazing protein in it. BUT (I know, I’m sorry, I always have a but…) I don’t like buying what they sell in grocery stores because they always add so many preservatives. I like to know exactly what I am eating, and would much rather not eat the crap they add into everything these days. So, for this reason, I make my own hummus. And well, so should you. It’s so simple, tastes delicious and is healthy.

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

recipes5recipes3

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of chick peas
  • 2 red peppers (or yellow or orange if that’s what you have in your fridge)
  • garlic (2 tsp. or more depending how much garlic you like!)
  • olive oil (a couple tablespoons)

Directions: Slice the peppers and drizzle olive oil over them, put them on a baking sheet in the oven at 400F for about 20 minutes or until soft. Mix chick peas, peppers, garlic and olive oil in the food processor. Add a bit of olive oil, and continue adding until you get the consistency you want. Voila, that’s all there is to it.

How simple is that hummus recipe!? I’m telling you, you will be addicted and will never buy pre made hummus again.

If you’re looking for a Wednesday night activity, try making these two recipes, I promise both will be a huge hit! & now go off and enjoy this gorgeous Wednesday, these hot sunny days won’t be around much longer so appreciate them while they last. Let’s be grateful for fashion, for food, & for the ability to enjoy this beautiful sunshine.

recipes7

-tal xo

Leave a Reply

