cookie dough bites, granola & summer.

One of the best things that come with summer, is cooking & baking whenever, wherever and however much I want. I love it. I can cook a big breakfast, or a delicious healthy lunch…instead of being in a rush or having to pack a lunch for work. But what makes cooking even better, is doing it at the cottage. Cooking and looking out the glass doors and seeing the sunset, or sunrise. It’s absolutely my favourite thing ever. Well lets be serious, being at the cottage in general is one of my favourite things, especially hanging out on the lake on the pontoon.

peanut butter2peanut butter1

I recently purchased the oh she glows cookbook and it is great. I bought it off Amazon for $14 and it is also at Costco for $16. I highly suggest the purchase! My next two recipes on here are a combination of her recipes and mine. (I have a seriously hard time following a recipe to a T…I always have to change up a few things to make it more me.)

Cookie Dough Bites

peanut butter6

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 2 tbsp. coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp. natural smooth peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour or almond flour
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt
  • 2 tbsp. dark chocolate chips

Directions: Blend rolled oats in a blender till it looks like flour. Mix oil, peanut butter, maple syrup and vanilla in a bowl, blend with hand blender. Add in both rolled oats flour and almond flour and salt, mix all together. Fold in chocolate chips. Roll balls onto parchment paper on a plate and put into freezer for about 20 minutes. Voila.

My suggestion with this snack is to put them into a Tupperware and leave them in the freezer at the cottage. Every time you or your kids need a protein boost snack, grab a cookie dough bite!

Granola, oh how I love me some granola. I’ve previously talked about buying delicious granola at the Elora market, which I still stand by…is delicious. But I came to the realization that when I love to bake why am I not making my own granola? So I tried it, and huge fan. I’m telling you, it is so easy. Barely takes any time to prep and then pop it in the oven and you’re good to go. I love my granola with greek yogurt, fresh fruit, even with almond milk. And the absolute best way to eat it? With vanilla greek yogurt, fresh berries from the market sitting on my dock at the cottage on a sunny morning. Perfect.

Homemade Granola

peanut butter

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1/3 cup dried cranberries
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions: Heat oven to 300F. Mix all dry ingredients together in a bowl. Drizzle maple syrup, oil and vanilla over top of the mixture and stir. Place the granola mixture flat on parchment paper on a cookie tray, place in oven for 45 minutes, flipping half way through. Delious-ness.

What can possibly beat hanging out at the cottage and cooking up a storm…absolutely nothing! Make sure to be buying all your fruits and veggies at a local market, I’m telling you the flavor is unbeatable and so are the prices. Check out the St. Jacobs market, or the Kady market…those are two that I have so much luck with.

peanut butter3

During summer remember one thing; how many months, days, hours, we spend dreaming about summer, of the sun, of the cottage, of camping…take in every last second. Cherish it. Because summer will be here and gone before we know it.

peanut butter5

– tal xo

 

 

Leave a Reply

