What’s Up Wednesday

I’d like to start by apologizing for being a little MIA lately. The flu last week really kicked my butt and I still am not feeling 100%. I’ve been sleeping non stop and when I am awake, it usually involves doing a whole lot of nothing. Which leads to not much fashion, very little cooking and no blog posts. My hopes are high that I will be fully back to myself by the end of this week. (Let’s hope.)

 

my life lately. i have been feeling so awful i’ve only made it to yoga once in a week…and haven’t gone on one run. boooo to the flu.
 
 Despite feeling horrible I still managed to have one day involving fashion. One of my good friends was tying the knot so a good pal of mine and myself headed to celebrate. I wore my oh so favourite BCBG dress with a pair of wedges from Bass Shoeware in the States. Most comfortable shoes I have ever worn. Whoever decided to make wedges in style, I love them. The back of the dress actually has an opening so part of my back shows, I wish I had a picture of the back but unfortunately I don’t.  

Next up, although my tummy has been very unsettled I decided to try homemade mac n cheese with a twist. Instead of boring old cheddar cheese I used both Gouda and Jalepeno. I also wanted some colour so I added green peas. Such an easy, yet delicious meal.

Mac n Cheese with a Twist


Ingredients

  • Gluten free pasta
  • Gouda cheese
  • Jalepeno cheese
  • Green peas
  • Milk
  • Butter

Directions: Heat oven to 350F. Cook pasta according to package. Drain and cool. Shred cheese. Cook peas according to package. Add pasta, cheese and peas in layers in a greased casserole dish. Add milk and butter to the middle of the layers. Bake for 45 minutes. Voila.

I’m telling you, the Mac n cheese really is as easy as it sounds and tastes absolutely amazing.

I’ll finish you off with a yummy dessert to try. I love fresh food. Fresh real food is one of my favourite things. Which makes this dessert rank at the top of my list. If you don’t have rhubarb and need some, I’ve got lots in my backyard and am willing to share!

Rhubarb Dessert


Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 cups rhubarb

Directions: boil 1/4 cup water and 1/3 cup sugar. Once boiling, add 2 cups chopped rhubarb. Let simmer for approx. 10minutes or until rhubarb is tender. Drizzle fresh lemon juice over top. Enjoy over ice cream or on its own.

Simple or what?! Can’t get much easier than a dessert with only 3 ingredients. And this is why I absolutely adore summertime, the fresh local food is so readily available and tastes so great.

Enjoy your week everyone & stay healthy!  – tal xo

Leave a Reply

