Recipes, Outfits & Babies, Oh My.

Tis the season to be healthy & happy. Something about Spring makes you want to get outside, enjoy the sun, go for runs and enjoy delicious food. Or at least that’s what it does to me. Seeing and feeling the warmth of the sun beating down, makes me want to get outside as much as possible. Luckily with my job I’m not stuck behind a desk and can go outside to play with the kids, but even when I get home I want to be outside. What can I say, I love Spring.

Also what comes with Spring is the upcoming bathing suit season. This time of year I stress out about getting in shape through exercise and food. And my time line has been shortened because I need to be bathing suit ready by April for my trip to Cuba. So although I may be a health nut in the first place, I’ve been even more into it recently.

Get out there and go for a run.

I have posted one of these recipes before, but after falling more and more in love with it each time I make it, I have to repeat it on my blog so hopefully more of you try it out. The second recipe, I haven’t posted in detail, so here it is and it’s a MUST try. First up is my homemade granola bar recipe, one word for you…DELICIOUS.

Peanut Butter Granola Bar 

 

Ingredients:
Dry
– 1 and 3/4 cup oats 
– 1 cup puffed brown rice cereal 
– 1/4 cup pumpkin seeds 
– 1/4 cup sunflower seeds 
– 1/4 cup chia seeds and/or flax seeds (I mixed half and half of each) 
– 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut 
Wet 
– 1/2 cup raw honey 
– 1/3 cup natural peanut butter 
– 1 tsp. vanilla extract (pure vanilla from Mexico is the best!!)

Directions: mix all the dry ingredients together. In separate bowl, mix wet ingredients and melt in microwave for 20 seconds. Mix everything together. (This takes so muscle to mix.) Lastly grease a pan and pack down the mixture. Put in fridge for an hour (minimum, the longer they sit before being cut the better) slice and wrap up.

By far my absolute favourite recipe when it comes to homemade granola bars. What these are absolutely perfect for are two things; putting one in your car so you have a snack full of protein to eat before the gym when you’re done work & to put in your purse when you’re going out for the day shopping. Such a great pick me up snack. (I’ll also be stocking my purse full of these for the airport and plane.) Next up is the most delicious brussel sprouts I’ve ever tasted. My mom tried them and she actually asked if they were smothered in butter because they tasted so good. No, of course I didn’t use butter, healthy food can just taste that darn good! 

Parmeson Brussel Sprouts 

 
 Ingredients
– fresh or frozen Brussel sprouts
– fresh lemon
– good olive oil (Mill St in Elora has stores with amazing olive oil)
– fresh parmeson cheese
-sea salt and freshly ground pepper

Directions: if brussels are frozen, boil for a few minutes (approx. 7) first. Cut into halves, put into mixing bowl and cover on olive oil. Place on baking sheet and bake for 30 min at 400F. As soon as they’re done, add back to the mixing bowl, add half a freshly squeezed lemon, parmeson, sea salt and pepper. Mix well. Serve. 

I’m telling you, you’re going to love these. They just melt in your mouth. & of course lastly, I will show you an updated picture of me and the little man, note his hands…he’s crossing them! How stinkin cute is that?! And a spring styled post hot yoga outfit; pink lulus & white converses…nothing screams Spring more. 

 

 

  

Be happy & be healthy. Get out there and enjoy the beautiful sunshine. And afterwards, get cooking! 

“Your soul shall be like a well watered garden.” Isaiah 58:11

– tal xo

Leave a Reply

