Sunday’s…<3

Sunday’s call for relaxing and enjoying the simple things. I love nothing more but to hang out in my house coat and bake. But it’s rare that I actually do this. I always, always have something to do that takes priority over relaxing. But yesterday, I actually got to relax and do everything I love to do on a Sunday morning.

sunday6

It started with baking delicious gluten free muffins. I turned the Bose on (this is the best little speaker ever. It has Bluetooth so I can hook up my phones Songza app and turn on some lite pop). I love relaxing and cooking to some quiet music on a Sunday morning. I had no where to go, nothing to do so I even stayed in my amazing Anthropology housecoat way later than normal. I have posted a similar muffin recipe on my blog before, but I tweaked it a little and these muffins turned out perfect.

sunday4Meatballs 3

Carrot & Coconut Muffins

sunday7

Ingredients:

1 cup brown rice flour
– 1/2 cup oats
– 2 tsp baking powder
– 2 tsp cinnamon
– 1/2 tsp sea salt
– 2 eggs
– 1 cup unsweetened applesauce
– 1/4 cup raw local honey
– 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
– 1/2 cup melted coconut oil
– 2 cups carrots, shredded
– 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
– 1/2 cup dried cranberries
– 1/3 cup raw pecans, chopped OR sunflower seeds

Directions: Turn oven on to 350F. Greece muffin pan or line with muffin papers. Mix the dry ingredients together; flour, oats, baking powder, cinnamon and sea salt. In separate bowl mix wet; eggs, Apple sauce, honey and vanilla. Then add melted and cooled coconut oil. Add wet to dry and mix (do not over mix). Add in carrots, coconut, cranberries and sunflower seeds. Bake for 35-40 min. Voila.

Personally I like to use sunflower seeds in mine because I work at an elementary school which is nut free, so this way I can bring the muffins on my lunch. But both the sunflower seeds or pecans taste delicious.

Once my delicious muffins were baked, I got started on dessert for dinner. My chocolate quinoa cake (recipe here)… And let me tell you, it turned out just as delicious as the last time I made it. Mmmmm it was good.

AC3

Once I was done all my baking I decided it was time to enjoy one of my muffins with a tea and a good book. I recently had read on Shay Shulls blog about the author Liane Moriarty. Shay had compared her to the author Emily Giffin who’s books I absolutely adore. I LOVE Emily Giffin books with a passion. I have read all of them, each one in about a day and a half. She has a way of hooking you in and not letting you out until you finish that last page. But since I have read all of her books, I had been looking for a similar author. And boy was Shay right, I am absolutely loving Liane Moriarty’s book The Hudband’s Secret. If you’re looking for a new book to read, you must try this one…I can barely put it down it’s so good. And she has 5 more books that I am going out and buying the second I’m done this one.

A hot tea, amazing book, Ugg slippers and Lululemon studio pants...couldn't get anymore relaxing. (The muffin didn't quite make the picture because it got ate way too fast.)
A hot tea, amazing book, Ugg slippers and Lululemon studio pants…couldn’t get anymore relaxing. (The muffin didn’t quite make the picture because it got ate way too fast.)

Baking and a good book…nothing could make a cold winter Sunday anymore relaxing.

“A Sunday well spent brings a week of content.”

– tal xo

Leave a Reply

