Family Day Love

Happy family day, oh how I love family day weekend. Now I know many of you are probably thinking well duh, who doesn’t love a long weekend? But here’s the thing, with this long weekend I actually do spend it with my family. And I love my family, so it’s fantastic. This weekend there were two very key parts involved, first was Parker (I hung out with him all day Love Day, because well he’s my little love) and second, shopping. Seriously, could anything beat Parker & shopping? No. Nothing.

family12

My mom and I decided to go to the Toronto Premium Outlets…on the coldest day of the year. Yes, us blondes decided to shop at an outdoor mall when it was -40. Some people may think we aren’t the brightest, but if you ask us…we had a great time. There were sales beyond sales, it was fantastic. First up, I went into Kate Spade (and I actually had to wait in line…outside…in the freezing cold…I said repeatedly in my head, boy these sales better be worth it). And they were. I bought this beautiful pale pink clutch for my trip which was regular $135 and I got it for $32. Next was the purse from Fossil. I have been looking everywhere for a big purse to bring on the plane with me that is both convienent and pretty. This was just what I was looking for. Fossil tends to be fairly expensive, but sometimes you can find some great sales…I paid $50 for this.

family1family

Next up came J.Crew. The love of my life as many of you know. This store had every season. They had winter sweaters, fall vests, spring coats and summer shorts. I’m not sure why they are supporting every season in the month of February, but I liked it. I got three pairs of shorts for my trip and they’re all fantastic. The blue and pink pair were regular 50 something and I got them for $10 each. The poka dot shorts were $30.

family6family4family5

Lastly we decided to stop in at Columbia. Usually my go to coat store is North Face but this mall doesn’t have one, so we decided to try Columbia….and was that ever a good choice. For anyone who knows me, they know I tend to wear spring jackets in the middle of winter because I care so much about fashion. I have been looking for the perfect warm, stylish winter coat forever. And the key is it had to be SERIOUSLY warm, without making me look like a big marshmellow. I had heard all about these turbo, new technology puff jackets which are thin but yet so warm. Shay Shull (Sean from the bachelor’s sister) has a very popular blog, and she raves about these coats. I hadn’t yet bought one because I didn’t have an extra $300 laying around…but…this was on sale for $100!!!! Done & done.

Stylish AND warm? Sold.
Stylish AND warm? Sold.

If you want to try shopping in the arctic, by all means try it out! It’s something every Canadian really should do. Plus to be honest, the way they built this mall, it is sheltered very well and I wasn’t near as cold as I expected to be. And while I shopped the entire time I just thought about cuddling and bathing my little man, and knew that would get me through anything!

This is what shopping in the arctic looks like. (Note my spring coat...won't have to do that again!)
This is what shopping in the arctic looks like. (Note my spring coat…won’t have to do that again!)
Nothing can possibly beat the smell of a clean baby.
Nothing can possibly beat the smell of a clean baby.
Cuddles with my little love bug.
Cuddles with my little love bug.

To add to my already amazing weekend, I stopped by my favourite latte joint, Starbucks. AND there were hearts on my cup for Love Day. Amazing. (I actually stopped at Starbucks to get my sleep deprived sister a latte…that girl needs some serious sleep, but since that’s not happening…a Starbucks latte was going to have to do.)

Seriously, how cool are those hearts on the cup. It instantly just makes you smile.
Seriously, how cool are those hearts on the cup. It instantly just makes you smile.

Shopping, family & Parker. Goodness I love family day weekend.

“we loved you before we knew you, even when there was just hope for you – we loved you.”

– tal xo

 

One thought on “Family Day Love

Leave a Reply

