Chocolate Quinoa Cake….YUM

Chocolate cake…who doesn’t love a delicious, creamy, full of flavor, piece of chocolate cake? I sure know I love me some chocolate cake. Know what I don’t love? Is sitting down to eat a piece of cake, and worrying the entire time about how much badness I am putting into my body. So much sugar…so much flour…so much butter…so much gluten…so much ugh everything bad. So for this simple reason, I don’t tend to eat chocolate cake. But…oh theres a BUT!! (I also love when there’s a but…) I have the perfect recipe so you can enjoy a piece of healthy chocolate cake!! (Yes, for real…healthy chocolate cake, that tastes GOOD!!)

You don't have to ask me twice. Chocolate cake and a green tea? I'm IN! :)
You don’t have to ask me twice. Chocolate cake and a green tea? I’m IN! 🙂

Everyone must, must, must try baking this cake. I’m telling you, it’s amazing. I got the recipe from Joyous Health’s blog and tweaked it a little (I can never just leave a recipe alone, I always have to change the odd thing). Bret was literally licking his plate and then went and got another piece (and then when I got home from work, I noticed he snuck home on his lunch and ate another piece). Let’s just say, the cake was a definite hit.

Chocolate Quinoa Cake

AC3

Ingredients: 
-2/3 cup white quinoa
-1 1/3 cups water
-1/3 cup almond milk
-4 large eggs
-1 tsp vanilla extract
-¾ cup coconut oil, melted and cooled
-¾ cup pure maple syrup
-½ cup coconut sugar (I used raw organic sugar this time, as that’s what I had in my cupboard) 
-1 cup cacao powder
-1 ½ tsp baking powder
-½ tsp baking soda
-½ tsp sea salt
-1 cup plain greek yogurt
-1 cup frozen berries (whatever kind you like, raspberries are my personal fav)
-icing sugar (your desired amount)

Directions: Preheat the oven to 350F. Lightly grease the bottom and sides of a 9” springform pan or a 9” square pan. Cook quinoa according to package, let cool. (You need 2 cups cooled and fluffed quinoa, 2/3 cup uncooked quinoa is the perfect cooked amount.)  Combine the milk, eggs and vanilla in a food processor. Add 2 cups of cooked quinoa, the maple syrup and the cooled melted coconut oil and continue to blend until smooth. Combine together in a medium bowl the coconut sugar, cacao powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt and mix well. Add this mixture to the food processor and mix just until blended. Do not over mix.
Pour the batter into the pan. Place on the middle rack in the oven. Bake for 45 to 50 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. 
Cool completely before serving. Either serve plain or two options, add fresh fruit to the top or add the fresh fruit sauce.

Fruit Drizzle: mix frozen berries and a splash on almond milk in a blender (magic bullet works perfect for this). Then with a hand blender mix frozen fruit mixture with greek yogurt. Here you can either use this as your drizzle or add a few scoops of icing sugar to sweeten the sauce. (Totally your choice, based on how healthy you want to keep the dessert. Either way is good.) Drizzle over the cake and voila.

Does that sound delicious or what? You will never know that the cake is baked with quinoa instead of flour. And just for a quick update on the cutest nephew in the world…here he is wearing his little Awesome Like Auntie onesie. Seriously, could this boy be any cuter!?

AC

“Let’s face it, a good creamy chocolate cake does a lot for a lot of people.” Audrey Hepburn

-tal xo

One thought on “Chocolate Quinoa Cake….YUM

Leave a Reply

