Live & Love

Death is a very interesting thing. As hard as it is, and in the midst of so much sadness, it can also bring out so much happiness. Yesterday my Grandma’s sister passed away. We found out and my Grandma was at our house so while my mom Grandma and I were sitting in the living room, my mom told her the news. We then started to remenece which of course brought up so many happy memories.

oatmeal9

When I was 6 years old, my Grandma and I flew to stay with her sister and her husband (Aunt Hazel and Uncle Donny…Uncle Donny was my name for him, he was one of the most fantastic people on this planet, absolutely so kind and would listen to my stories for hours on end.) at their home away from home in Sarasota, Florida. (Let me tell you one thing, me leaving my moms side at the age of 6 for more than 5 minutes was a huge deal…my Grandma Eileen was the only person on this planet I would have gone to Florida with other than my mom. My Grandma was my second mom, only better because she spoiled me rotten.) We pulled out the old photo albums and found pictures of our trip to Florida. And lets just say…I cared just as much about fashion at the age of 6 as I do now. There I was with a little belly top and cute little pink shorts. And then there was the dress…ohhhh the dress. My Grandma says I wanted this dress SO bad that I sat down in the middle of the store, dumped all my money out and started counting it. Luckily I had enough money to buy it (or so my Grandma and Aunt Hazel told me. I’m guessing one of them paid for most of it but told me I did…to this day Grandma still says I paid for it all). This picture of me walking off the plane shows just how happy I was. I loved fashion and my Grandma…and I still do.

Yes that is a Fischer Price camera...man did I think that thing was cool.
Yes that is a Fischer Price camera…man did I think that thing was cool.
That dress though...I thought I was so stylin' walking off that plane...also notice the "side purse"...what can I say, I was a cool cat.
That dress though…I thought I was so stylin’ walking off that plane…also notice the “side purse”…what can I say, I was a cool cat.
Will never, ever forget the week I spent with these two special people who are now enjoying each others company in heaven.
Will never, ever forget the week I spent with these two special people who are now enjoying each others company in heaven.

So while we’re on the topic of fashion, I have to show you the ring I got for Christmas. I talked about wanting it in a past blog post and my dearest friend Tara drove to the store the second my post came out and bought me the ring. It’s from the store Macadi which is on Mill St. in Elora. The part I love most about it is that it’s an individual. No one else will be wearing my ring…I love unique things.

oatmeal8

Now lastly, since I’ve been encouraging everyone to make smoothies I figure I should check up on you all. I sure hope you’ve went and bought a Magic Bullet and are making yummy delicious smoothies. I have come up with the best combination for breakfast, that has to be shared. A smoothie and Oatmeal with fresh fruit. Quick, easy and healthy. Not often do those 3 words go together in a sentence, but I promise you this breakfast only takes 5 minutes to make.

Use whatever fruit you have available, and make sure you put it in last...once the oatmeal is cooked so the fruit doesn't get soggy.
Use whatever fruit you have available, and make sure you put it in last…once the oatmeal is cooked so the fruit doesn’t get soggy.

In life we have to remember that some things which can seem to be such a negative, can always bring out positives. It was amazing to spend an hour talking with my Grandma about her sister, seeing my Grandma’s eyes light up every time we said Hazel. I will never forget that special week I spent in Florida with three of the most sincere, incredible people.

“Sometimes you will never know the true value of a moment until it becomes a memory.”

-tal xo

5 thoughts on “Live & Love

Leave a Reply

