Live Simply

It’s the simple things in life that can really make living, just that much better.

The other night I met up with two girls from college for sushi. We try to make this a regular monthly (well ok with all of our busy schedules, usually bi-monthly) occurrence. And every time we get together, it is so nice. We talk for hours on end, we’re usually one of the first tables there for the supper rush and generally they’re cleaning the restaurant to close when we leave. During our last get together, in the middle of amazing conversation I realized, wow this is so awesome that we can still fit time into our busy lives to see each other.

less8

But here’s the thing, you’re only as busy as you make yourself. YOU said yes to every single thing on that calendar of yours. So YOU need to deal with that. If you’re too busy, stop doing things that have no meaning to them. Why are you doing them? Think about it. What in your life do you truly need, keep doing those things. What in your life are you doing because you’re “supposed” to do? Stop doing them. Life is much too short to miss opportunities to catch up with old girlfriends.

Life is about living and living in the right mindset. I am reading a book right now, that I would highly urge each and everyone of you to buy right now and start reading. It’s called Mindset The New Psychology of Success by Carol S. Dweck. It’s taking me forever to finish this book, because literally every single page makes me stop and think. How does that affect my life? How can I change my mindset to make my life more positive? This book will take your mind into a whole new “mindset”.

less1

And you know what helps put me in a better mindset, going shopping (and going for sushi with friends of course). Here’s something for you all to think about, just because you’re shopping…doesn’t mean you need to buy anything. Believe it or not, I have gone shopping many of times and come home empty handed but still feeling like a million bucks. I try things on, I love things…and I realize I don’t need them. I love it, yes, but I don’t NEED it. I tried on a couple things in J.Crew and I really liked both sweaters but I realized, I don’t need these sweaters…so I smiled at them in the mirror, I loved them…and I put them back. Sometimes less is more. Now don’t get me wrong, this doesn’t mean you shouldn’t go shopping. Go. Do it. Drive to the mall, drive downtown Oakville…but remember the experience of shopping in itself can fulfil everything you need. We all know I love oversized clothes, so first is a sweater that is both stylish and super comfy, in the second picture you’ll see how it has just the perfect detail of a zipper up the side. And second, I love stripes. Always have, always will. Can never go wrong with stripes.

less7less6less5

It’s quite easy really, find the time to do what YOU want to do, not what the world THINKS you should do. Keep things simple, less really can be more.

 

Spending time with my family is one of my absolute favourite things to do. This past weekend it was my cousins 13th birthday, and almost everyone was there. We always have so much fun together.
Spending time with my family is one of my absolute favourite things to do. This past weekend it was my cousins 13th birthday, and almost everyone was there. We always have so much fun together.

“Find the time. The time to read, to smell the flowers, to paint your dreams, to have coffee with a friend, to learn a new craft, to write a letter, to bake a surprise cake, to go somewhere special, to REALLY be with the person you love, or even to do nothing for a while…”

– tal xo

 

Leave a Reply

