Coconut Macaroons & Smoothies

I realized something today as I was driving around doing errands killing time before yoga, life really is great. There are many, many days that I completely, totally understand how you disagree with this…but it is great. During the times where you just want to think so badly that life sucks, think about the little things that bring a smile to your face. Whether that be your family, your career, the yoga class your driving to, the smoothie your sipping…whatever it is, think about it…as much as you need to.

life

Yesterday I posted a recipe for GF Pancakes (I hope all you fellow gf peeps tried the recipe and loved it as much as I did) and on that same blog I found a recipe for Coconut Macaroons that are not only incredibly delicious but they are reasonably healthy as well. I have seen so many recipes for macaroons that call for cups and cups of sugar, this one does not. (Best part about macaroons, they’re naturally gluten free, YAY!!)

Coconut Macaroons

life2

Ingredients:
– 1 tbsp. sugar
-2 1/2 cups sweetened shredded coconut
-2 large egg whites
-1 tsp. vanilla extract
-pinch of salt

Directions: Heat oven to 325F. Place parchment paper onto a pan, grease the paper. Mix all ingredients together well. Using your tbsp. place a scoop of the mixture onto parchment paper. Once complete, put in the oven for approx. 16 minutes or until golden brown.

Ok now was that easy, or was that easy? Honestly you could make these up in no time. If you’re invited to a party last minute and want to bring a treat, or if you’re laying around in your pj’s with a tea and need a snack. They really truly are easy and taste great.

While I was out doing errands before yoga, I realized I needed a snack of some sort before exercising. I was exhausted from work and drained of all my energy (which is exactly why I needed a yoga class). And as many of you I’m sure know, it can be really difficult to find a quick, healthy snack on the go. There are fast food restaurants everywhere, but trying to find one simple healthy snack? Can be torturous. I have a solution. Almost every single town and city has a health food store, google it or ask Siri…drive there…and buy a smoothie. This is such a healthy way to fill up and get back some energy instead of putting crap into your body. I went to the health food store in Elmira and they had this delicious smoothie, and it complete the job perfectly.

life4

Enjoy the little things in life. Whatever makes you happy, do more of it.

This is how I enjoy life...cuddling in my favourite house coat, infront of the fire, watching Netflix (seriously who watches Nashville? I'm so totally addicted) with my pup.
This is how I enjoy life…cuddling in my favourite house coat, infront of the fire, watching Netflix (seriously who watches Nashville? I’m so totally addicted) with my pup.

“Just because the past didn’t turn out like you wanted it to, doesn’t mean your future cant be better than you ever imagined.”

-tal xo

 

Leave a Reply

