Frozen Meals & Family

When it comes to October, there’s one specific weekend that I love more than anything. Thanksgiving. I know it is important to be thankful everyday of the year, but I love how Thanksgiving really makes you realize how much you have to be thankful for and how much life should be loved.

frozen9

We spent the long weekend up at our family cottage. I absolutely love spending a weekend with all of my cousins. We’ve grown up together and are still so close, but with busy lives it’s hard to see each other as much as we would like. Which makes holidays like Thanksgiving that much more special. We went for walks and hikes, played games, and talked…a lot. Until 1am…laughing and chatting and laughing some more. (Until we got told we were too loud and had to go to bed…) I am beyond thankful for my amazingly weird and crazy family. (Not to mention incredibly LOUD family…I realized this when I looked over at my brothers new girlfriend who was meeting the family for the first time, and as her eyes continued to get bigger and her head ready to explode, it was then that I knew just how loud and crazy my family really is!)

We went for a beautiful walk at the cottage.
We went for a beautiful walk at the cottage.
Next was a hike on some beautiful trails by our cottage...it's incredible the scenery that surrounds us that is so normal to us.
Next was a hike on some beautiful trails by our cottage…it’s incredible the scenery that surrounds us.
We thought this rock was a perfect cousin picture opportunity...My mom disagreed as she thought I was going to fall off it since my Hunters aren't "climbing shoes". Don't worry...I was fine. And look at the beautiful picture we got!
We thought this rock was a perfect cousin picture opportunity…My mom disagreed as she thought I was going to fall off it since my Hunters aren’t “climbing shoes”. Don’t worry…I was fine. And look at the beautiful picture we got!

Because my blog is about fashion and food, I figured I should add a little food into this post. Long weekends are such a great time to prepare food for the upcoming weeks. It’s so important to eat healthy lunches while at work. Although I know it is much easier to buy lunch at Harvey’s or Tim Hortons everyday, bringing a home cooked meal is so much healthier (and way better on the wallet). My biggest tip to people is to prepare meals and freeze them so making your lunch everynight for work is that much easier, and quicker.

Not only can you prepare your main meals, but as well you can freeze baking so you always have snacks readily available. Fast food is called fast food for a very good reason, its FAST (duhhh!). BUT it’s also incredibly unhealthy. I totally understand that everyone has busy lives, and doesn’t always have time to make lunches. Which is exactly why I am suggesting you freeze both meals and snacks so that you have healthy options. First I made a batch of GF Pumpkin Muffins which were on the blog last week, I baked them and froze them in Ziploc freezer bags so everyday I can get one out and pack it in my lunch. As well I stopped by my favourite gluten free bakery, Sugar Babies and stocked up on muffins and bread. I froze everything so it is available to me when I need it.

Homemade Pumpkin Muffins ready to go into the freezer on the left. Sugar Babies gluten free bread and muffins on the right.
Homemade Pumpkin Muffins ready to go into the freezer on the left. Sugar Babies gluten free bread and muffins on the right.

What comes to mind when you hear chicken fried rice? Unhealthy, fried fast food. But oh no, think again. I have SUCH an easy recipe that makes a huge amount so you can freeze three or four containers for lunches.

frozen7

frozen2

frozen1

Chicken Fried Rice

Ingredients:
– 4 red/yellow/orange peppers
– 1/2 a purple onion
-olive oil
-garlic
-rice (white or whole grain)
-3 boneless skinless chicken breasts

Directions: Slice peppers and onions into thin strips. Saute peppers and onions in olive oil and garlic on low for approx. 30 min or until cooked. Cook rice as per directions on package. Bake chicken breasts at 350F for 30-45min. (or until cooked). Slice chicken and mix everything together. Divide it into Tupperware containers and place in freezer.

I hope you had as amazing of a weekend as I did, appreciating the little things in life. Start and end each day with a thankful heart, whether its Thanksgiving weekend or not.

I am thankful for this little man who always brightens up my day...right before dinner he asked if we could take pictures...and continued to say "another one, another one". I now have about 25 selfies of him and I!
I am thankful for this little man who always brightens up my day…right before dinner he asked if we could take pictures…and continued to say “another one, another one”. I now have about 25 selfies of him and I!

“The things you take for granted, someone else is praying for.”

-tal xo

Leave a Reply

