Baking & Buying

If you read my last post you will be well aware that I love nothing more than fall and pumpkins. But wait…maybe there is something I love just as much or more, sales. Between October baking and October shopping, let’s just say October has been off to a great start.

shopping7

Let’s start with October baking. I searched and searched for a gluten free Pumpkin Muffin recipe that I liked the looks of. I came across this recipe, tweaked it a little and thought I would try it out and let me tell you, amazing. They turned out fantastic. The texture was good, they were moist and they had so much flavour. If you’re not gluten free, just change the gluten free flour to regular flour.

shopping2

Shopping

Pumpkin Muffins

Ingredients
1 cup Brown Rice Flour
1 cup all purpose gluten free flour
2/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/3 cup sugar
1 tbsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/2 cup Butter, melted
1/2 cup mashed cooked pumpkin
1/3 cup milk
2 Eggs slightly beaten

Directions: Heat oven to 400°F. Place paper baking cups into 12-cup muffin pan cup or grease cups. Set aside. Combine all ingredients except butter, pumpkin, buttermilk and eggs in bowl. Combine all remaining ingredients in another bowl. Stir into flour blend mixture just until moistened. Spoon batter into prepared muffin pan. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 5 minutes; remove from pan. And enjoy!!

Next on the October amazing-ness list, sales. I found so many great sales this month at no other than, Toronto Premium Outlets and Winners. Two great places to shop. First up on the list, a black poncho. Ok so poncho really makes you think of an old lady, it’s a terrible name, basically it’s just a big lose black sweater. It goes great with a scarf, side purse and hunters. I bought this “poncho” or black sweater, at Winners on sale for $24!!!! I couldn’t believe it. I’ve been looking for a big sweater like this everywhere and they were always in the $50 range. Nothing beats 24 dollars!! Also, the scarf I am wearing, I found at Indigo in the Summer and loved it, but it was $45. I don’t know about you, but I cannot justify spending that much money on a scarf. So I waited…and waited…and it went on sale!! I snatched it up for $22. If you haven’t noticed, this pattern is EVERYWHERE, it’s the new so called “neutral” and I’m hooked. Shoes, scarves, sweaters…if you don’t have it in your wardrobe buy at least one thing and I promise within a week you will also be hooked.

shopping3

Next, Toronto Premium Outlets. I hadn’t been there in awhile (by a while I mean one month) and so I was dying to get there. There were sales EVERYWHERE. I was on a limited time schedule so I only made it into a few stores, but boy did I get some great deals. Kate Spade had an amazing sale, 40% off the entire store PLUS another 20% off. Thank goodness I had only 5 minutes or I probably would have bought everywhere. I bought an amazing pair of earrings and bracelet that I love. Both this bracelet and the earrings I got with tax for $41…from Kate Spade!! How crazy good of a deal is that!? I have a tip, in order to have an entire fun jewelry collection you need to spend time building it. I understand that no one can justify going into Kate Spade and spending $300 on the 5 bracelets that make up an amazing set, the earrings, the necklace…so buy one or two pieces every time you’re there and eventually you will have an amazing jewelry collection to wear.

shopping6

shopping8

J.Crew, my love. I love J.Crew and I LOVE J.Crew sales. Back in August when I was there I found a vest that I adored. Problem was it was way too expensive. I could not justify spending $115 on a vest. Let’s just say waiting patiently for it to go on sale was the best idea ever. It was on sale for $69 plus an extra 40% off and then an extra 15% off. Regular $115 and I got it for $35. I can’t even explain how much I love this vest, vests are so in right now…if you don’t have one, go on a hunt and find one. Now. Like asap. You must all wear vests this fall. Also at J.Crew they had so many awesome tops on sale, I bought this one in a size too big so it hangs just right (I love sweaters like this big and comfy looking) it was regular $79.50 on sale for $20!! Remember, if you’re a teacher you get 15% off at J.Crew by showing your card. OR if you’re not a teacher, go to the Information desk in the food court, show your CAA card and you will get a coupon book. This book has deals for both Kate Spade and J.Crew and many more stores too.

shopping4

shopping5

If you haven’t been fall baking or fall shopping, you’ve still got time. Believe me, once you start…you aren’t going to stop. Your kids and husbands may just get sick of pumpkins by the end of October, but so what!

“Happiness is only real when shared.” – Into the Wild

-tal xo

One thought on “Baking & Buying

Leave a Reply

