Pumpkin Everything

Pumpkin. Do I need to say more? Pumpkin EVERYTHING! Pumpkin Spice Lattes, Pumpkin Spice Candles, Pumpkin Decorations, Pumpkin Baking. I love pumpkins, real or fake, big or small. pumpkin1 This weekend although it felt more like summer then fall, I was in the pumpkin mood (the only thing that gets me through knowing fall and pumpkins will soon come to an end is that after fall is Christmas, my other favourite time of year). I decided I needed to do some gluten free pumpkin baking. I hadn’t had breakfast yet so my mind shot right to pancakes. Pumpkin Pancakes. Sounds brilliant. As I was cooking them my brother got home from the gym to find me being a typical girl during fall…his response “what the heck are you baking, why are those pancakes brown and why does the house smell like pumpkin?” Well duh Brady I’m making pumpkin pancakes of course. (I shall have you all know he tried my gluten free pumpkin pancakes and loved them!!) I searched around for a gluten free recipe that I thought looked best, I found this one on Against All Grain’s Facebook page. pumpkin7

pumpkin8

pumpkin9

pumpkin6

Pumpkin Pancakes

Ingredients:
– 4 large eggs
-1/2 cup almond butter
-1/2 pumpkin purée
-1/4 honey
-1/4 cup almond milk
-2 tbsp melted coconut oil
-1/4 cup coconut flour
-1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 tsp baking soda
-11/2 tsp cinnamon
-3/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp ginger

1/4 sea salt
-real maple syrup

Directions: Mix all ingredients (except maple syrup) into a bowl. Pour onto a frying pan, use either butter or coconut oil to grease the pan first. I find these pancakes take longer to cook then normal pancakes, but keep a very close eye because they will go from not cooked to burnt in two seconds. Pour maple syrup over top and enjoy.

Yummy, yummy in my tummy. Such delicious pancakes. That batch will make approx. 7 pancakes. If you’re making them just for you, freeze the rest and when you’re ready to eat them throw them in the toaster to heat up.

Next up, fall decorations. As much as I love pumpkins, I don’t think homes should have 1500 pumpkins in every room. I love fall decorating…to a point. Don’t overdo it. Keep it simple, and classy. And of course, don’t over pay for decorations. Buy decorations at the end of the fall season on sale for next year. When it comes to pumpkins themselves, buy them at road side stands that sell them super cheap. (If you live anywhere near Alma, there is a veggie stand in town that has tons and tons of cheap pumpkins all different kinds, sizes, and colours for sale.) pumpkin2 pumpkin4 pumpkin5 A house with fall decorations automatically turns into a home, especially when you have the fall candles burning. October is the perfect month to be thankful for everything you have, your friends, your family and everything else that you may take for granted but are so lucky to have.

So thankful to have amazing friends in my life.
So thankful to have amazing friends in my life.

“It is not happy people who are thankful; it is thankful people who are happy.”

-tal xo

Leave a Reply

