Apples & Aprons

As we have already discussed in my last post, fall is great. Fall is every girls favourite season (and if you don’t believe me, do a survey for yourself). This weekend was a beautiful fall weekend, which calls for fall activities. Early thanksgiving meals, Starbucks trips, fall walks and delicious cooking. What a great time of year to be thankful and enjoy life. fall The absolute best way to put you in the fall spirit is to make homemade apple sauce. SO delicious, makes your home smell amazing and a super healthy snack. Along with cooking your apple sauce, light your vanilla maple syrup Indigo candle to really make your home smell of fall. (And make sure to get your boyfriend or girlfriend, wife or husband to bring you a Starbucks latte to drink while cooking.) If possible try and buy your apples from anywhere but the grocery store. I picked apples off my grandmas apple tree as well as buying some from a road side stand. Or if you live in the Tavistock area check out Bickle’s Orchard Park Farms, they sell incredibly delicious apples.

Apple Sauce

fall6

Ingredients:
-apples (any kind, as long as they’re picked personally from a tree or from a road side stand)
-water
-sugar
-cinnamon
Directions: Peel all of the apples, use a corer to core the apple and put slices into a large saucepan. Add acouple cups of water. Turn to medium heat and let the apples simmer until soft. Once they’re soft, remove from heat and use a potato masher to mash all of the apples. Stir in as much or as little sugar as wanted. (I prefer to add a very small amount of sugar to the batch to keep it as healthy as possible.) Put apple sauce into a mason jar and sprinkle cinnamon. fall7 Yum, yum & YUM. Such a delicious and healthy fall treat. Nothing beats homemade apple sauce. Such a great snack to send on your kids lunch rather than the pre packaged bought apple sauce.

Next up, fall walks. Fall is the best time to go on walks, it’s not too hot and not too cold and the scenery is beautiful. But let’s be serious, you want to look good on a walk, right?! So here are a few key pieces to looking good during a fall walk. First up, sunglasses. Who doesn’t love an amazing pair of sunglasses? Sunglasses are so personal depending on your face shape and style. Sunglasses are something that you can’t go out looking for, you need to just stumble upon the perfect pair on sale. (Like I’ve said before, the more often you go shopping the more often you’ll stumble upon amazing sales.) And that is exactly what I did. I found these sunglasses on sale at Kate Spade for $80 regular $200. What a steal! fall1 Along with a good pair of sunglasses, you need a nice looking water bottle. (Yes you could bring a plastic disposable water bottle OR you could help the environment and your style out by buying a cute reusable one.) I found this super cute water bottle at Target for only $9.99. Get there quick before they’re gone!! fall3 Now that I’ve given you all of these tips, you all should know how to spend your next Sunday making the most of this beautiful weather.

Sunglass & Water Bottle in action on yesterdays beautiful fall walk.
Sunglass & Water Bottle in action on yesterdays beautiful fall walk.

“I’ve seen better days, but I’ve also seen worse. I don’t have everything I want, but I do have all I need. I woke up with some aches and pains, but I woke up. My life may not be perfect, but I am blessed.”

-tal xo

Leave a Reply

