Bakeries & Banana Bread

For all of my fellow gluten free peeps, I know how difficult it is to find delicious, affordable gluten free baking. I don’t even want to think about how much money I have spent trying out gluten free baking from markets, bakeries, restaurants, that have tasted so incredibly bad that I throw it out after one bite. I have literally spent $8 on 6 muffins and threw 5 and a half out. We all know how much I like to save money, so this does not make me a happy camper. I am picky, I want tasty and affordable gluten free baking. And guess what. I found the perfect place.

baking
No more second mortgage needed!! Sugar Babies sells totally affordable GF baking and bread. This makes me very happy!

Sugar Babies on the Main Street in Elmira, beside Kitchen Kuttings. Incredible. Absolutely amazing. My sister recently said, “there’s no way all this food is gluten free, it actually tastes good”. Yes, gluten free baking that tastes good!! And for an affordable price. You must, must, must stop in at this bakery and try it out. First on the list, try her blueberry muffins. They are to die for. They’re so moist and so delicious, even non gluten free people will love them. Next, her zucchini muffins. Amazing. The gluten free bread, is so moist and actually stays in one piece without crumbling to the plate. What’s that? Us gluten free people could actually eat a sandwich without it totally falling apart, that’s unheard of! And lastly her gluten free tarts. I don’t even know where to begin. A certain someone was being Mr.Perfect again, acting all cute and brought me some gluten free treats one night after work. He shows up with these tarts, and I thought well that’s awfully rude he brought me 6 non gluten free tarts, what am I supposed to do with these? They looked way too delicious and perfect to be gluten free, but they were!!! Whatever you’re doing right now…stop…drive to Elmira…and buy some tarts. Absolutely amazingly delicious. (She also has non gluten free baking so for anyone who “hates gross gluten free food” she has lots to offer you as well.)

baking3

baking5

baking4

If you want to try baking a gluten free treat instead of buying it, I have a delicious recipe for Chocolate Chip Banana Bread which melts in your mouth. It’s not grainy, it’s not dry, it’s delicious. My biggest tip, brown rice flour. It’s much thinner than the usual thick, grainy, dry gluten free flour. You can buy brown rice flour in almost every grocery store these days, and it’s very reasonably priced. This banana bread is perfect to bake for the cottage, or to bring camping and here’s a tip, don’t tell anyone it’s gluten free. If you don’t tell anyone, no one will know which leads to no one complaining about it being “gluten free”. (I’m not sure if anyone else has this problem, but anything that is gluten free my family automatically assumes is gross and will not even try.)

GF Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

baking6

Ingredients:
-1/2 cup butter
-1/2 cup raw organic sugar
– 1 tsp. baking powder
– 1/2 tsp. salt
-1/2 tsp. baking soda
– 3 bananas
– 2 eggs
– 1 1/2 cup brown rice flour
– 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips/chunks

Directions: Cream butter, add sugar, add eggs and add bananas. Mix. Add dry ingredients. Bake at 350F. Takes about one hour, but start checking with a tooth pick after 30 minutes. Baking time can vary based on different ovens.

So now that we’re in the mood for talking amazing, why don’t I mention again (incase you’ve forgot in the past week) how amazing the Toronto Premium Outlets. My mom, sister and I went on a little day trip yesterday and although many of you think the sun shining calls for the beach, we (or at least I) think it calls for some outdoor shopping. Not only does this malls sales rock, but I can’t get over how great it is to shop outside. It is so nice walking around with the sun shinning, wind blowing with good company and great sales. Who knew a mall could make someone so happy, it’s whatever makes you happy, that you need to do more of. Whether that’s eating gluten free baking, shopping outside or whatever else, do more of it. And a heads up, this mall is also fantastic come fall. Stop at Starbucks in Milton for a skinny pumpkin spice latte on your way and stroll the Outlets with latte in hand. You can’t beat it. (I can’t believe I’m actually already getting excited and writing about fall. Scarves, boots, lattes, and cuddles on the couch. The best.)

baking2

To do list: buy some Sugar Babies baking, stroll the outlets, live your life & be happy.

“The best day of your life is the one on which you decide your life is your own, no apologies or excuses, no one to lean on, rely on, or blame. The gift is yours – it is an amazing journey – and you alone are responsible for the quality of it. This is the day your life really begins.” – Bob Moawad

– tal xo

One thought on “Bakeries & Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

