Happiness is a Journey…Not a Destination.

 

Happiness. It can come in a variety of ways. Whether it’s through relationships, friendships, shopping, or cooking. There’s many ways to bring happiness into your life, and it’s important to figure out what those ways are for you personally, in order to live the most fulfilling life. Recently in my life there has been an over abundance of happiness, and it has come in several different ways all at once. I couldn’t be more thankful for where I am right now, and the people who have got me to this place.

candles3

 

Condo shopping, one of the ways I bring happiness into my life. Although move in is still SO far away (I think I’m going to get the kids at school to make me a count down chain, like you would make at Christmas…only this chain is going to be verrrrrrry long). I am so excited to get my own place, which leads to me always wanting to buy things for it. Recently on holidays we were at the Keady Market, if you’ve never been you should check it out. It’s really quite a cool market, with local fruit and veggies as well as a whole lot of other interesting things. I came across these candle holders and thought they would look great on my white fireplace (which I have yet to find, but I’ll keep you posted). All three pieces which are handcrafted were only $25. I’d say that’s a deal and a half.

candles

 

candles2

Of course, other than condo shopping clothes shopping also brings me happiness. The second I walk into a mall I don’t stop smiling till I leave. And of course sales may help this smile! J.Crew had some amazing deals on summer clothes. This pink skirt was regular $70 on sale for $50, then 50% off and another 15% off. $21 for an amazing skirt, how could I go wrong?! Next up are the pink shorts, regular $60 on sale for $12. Biggest tip, never ever forget to check the clearance section in J.Crew. It’s where you find the absolute best deals.

jcrew1

 

jcrew

And lastly, how could we forget cooking. I love to cook. Sometimes I love to bake, but I always am happiest cooking in the kitchen. Last night I decided to experiment and play around with chicken. And I discovered a delicious and super easy new recipe.

 

Balsamic & Tomato Chicken

candles1

Ingredients:
-chicken
-balsamic vinegar
-honey
-olive oil
-freshly sliced lemon
-grape tomatoes

 

Directions: Mix balsamic vinegar, honey and olive oil together. Pour it over chicken in a bowl. Cover the chicken and let marinade in fridge for a few hours (the longer the better). Pre heat oven to 350F. Place chicken in cooking pan and squeeze fresh lemon juice over. Slice grape tomatoes and spread generously over each piece of chicken. Bake for approx. 45 minutes or until chicken is cooked.

Figure out what makes you happy, and do it. Do it with love, with a big giant heart. If you’re having a hard time figuring out what makes you happy, or what brings happiness to your life, talk to a 5 year old. Their innocence and outlook on life can be absolutely incredible. They have better advice about life than most adults do, simplicity. Happiness is simple.

“When I was 5 years old my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, I wrote down Happy. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment and I told them they didn’t understand life.” – John Lennon

-tal xo

 

 

Leave a Reply

