Dinner&Dresses

While writing the first half of this post I was laying out on the pontoon boat at my cottage realizing something I haven’t realized for way too many months… life is good. Life is really good. I was staring out into the sunshine as I laid there with my whole summer ahead of me, and there’s not too much to complain about. Now as I finish off the second half of the post, I am sitting in my “summer office” which consists of an amazingly comfy Muskoka chair, a tea, my lap top & a country view. I’d say things are looking pretty good…not just my life, but my new dresses too!

Now that's what I call an office.
Now that’s what I call an office.

This past week I decided I needed to buy an unlimited hot yoga pass. (Recently I’ve always just bought a 20 class pass which never expires, i.e. I don’t have to push myself to go all the time.) Studies show that exercise directly improves mental well being. And has anyone been to hot yoga before? Of any exercise it REALLY helps with mental well being. While laying there after an amazing work out, the teacher in a soft spoken voice will start talking and it sinks in more than anyone else talking ever does. Last class the teacher taught us about letting go. Let it go. What are you holding onto she said. Whatever it is, let it go. So I did. Right then and there, I let go of everything negative. And I felt fantastic.

Now the shopping I did in Toronto may have also helped, along with my mom and one of my besties being along side. We walked into the store French Connection (you know that store with all the FCUK signs that you always double look at thinking the sign says something else) on Queen street in Toronto and all I saw was SALE. Oh I was excited. I found two amazing dresses and two bathing suits that I loved. The first dress (orange and navy) was regular $58 and was on sale for $35 plus another 20% off. The white dress was reg. $128 on sale for $49 with an extra 20%. This store when there aren’t any sales is ridiculously expensive, I’ve left empty handed many times. But every now and then I have found some fantastic deals. (The more you shop, the better chance you have at finding sales!)

Cute right!? Picture it without the wedges and throw on some flip flops and it's instantly dressed down. And to top it all off, its cotton and SUPER comfy.
Cute right!? Picture it without the wedges and throw on some flip flops and it’s instantly dressed down. And to top it all off, its cotton and SUPER comfy.
Is this dress fun or what!? It's hard to believe but this dress is also cotton and super comfy. Never ever buy a dress that is tight, uncomfortable and doesn't move if you plan on wearing it all the time. Which if you have learnt anything from me, every single dress you buy, you should plan on wearing all the time.
Is this dress fun or what!? It’s hard to believe but this dress is also cotton and super comfy. Never ever buy a dress that is tight, uncomfortable and doesn’t move if you plan on wearing it all the time. Which if you have learnt anything from me, every single dress you buy, you should plan on wearing all the time.

Next up Tara saw the Gap, with a big Sale sign (and let’s just say I have spent many of years teaching Tara how to find a good sale, and she’s who spotted the sale sign, I was one proud girl). We found fantastic Gap scarves marked down, marked down again and again… And eventually paid $5 for beautiful scarves. Amazing.

Lets just say once you have a blog, you get over the fact of looking silly taking constant pictures of your sweet finds. Unfortunately Tara and I forgot to take a picture of both of us with are awesome scarves.
Once you have a blog, you get over the fact of looking silly taking constant pictures of your sweet finds. Unfortunately Tara and I forgot to take a picture of both of us with our awesome scarves.

So now that I have two new nice and comfy bathing suits to lounge in at the cottage, what do we eat? I love cooking at the cottage, nothing beats cooking a delicious and healthy meal at a location with a view. From the island in the kitchen I can look out and see the beautiful lake and sunset. It’s amazing. One of the easiest, healthy and delicious meals that I love making at the cottage is chicken and shrimp skewers. The best part about this meal is it is so easy to make this a small meal, or cook it for a lot of people. Perfect for a cottage meal if you’re inviting lots of guests up.

Chicken & Shrimp Skewers

Deliciousness.
Deliciousness.

Ingredients:
(I won’t list amounts because it varies depending on how many people you’re serving)

-boneless skinless chicken breasts
-shrimp
-red onion
-red, orange and yellow peppers
-button mushrooms
-local raw honey
-soya sauce or tamari(for GF)
-olive oil
-garlic

-sea salt and pepper

Best chicken marinade, EVER. So delicious. The longer you leave it marinating the more tastey it is.
Best chicken marinade, EVER. So delicious. The longer you leave it marinating the more tastey it is.

Directions: Cut raw chicken up into chunks, put it in a large bowl, add soya sauce, honey, olive oil, garlic and salt and pepper. Cover and let marinade in the fridge for 3 hours. Cut veggies into large pieces, put them onto skewers, drizzle soya sauce, honey and olive oil, lay onto large platter and put into the fridge. When ready to BBQ, add the shrimp onto skewers as well as the chicken. By having separate skewers with the shrimp, chicken and veggies its easier to cook on the BBQ as well people can choose exactly which ones they want. BBQ and voila, done and yumm.

How amazing does that look? Cook up some whole grain rice and you've got yourself one tastey, gluten free dinner.
How amazing does that look? Cook up some whole grain rice and you’ve got yourself one tastey, gluten free dinner.

If you have any time off this summer, spending a day downtown Toronto and NOT in a mall can be super fun. The busy-ness of a mall can take away from the relaxing day you’re looking for. Try Queen street in TO and or Lakeshore in Oakville. (And hey while you’re at it, apply for Marilyn Denis tickets and sit in her live audience!)

Marilyn Denis show and shopping, best way to spend an amazing day with the girls. (Note the skirt I'm wearing, bet you'd never have guessed it was only $15 if it wasn't for me telling you that's all it was.)
Marilyn Denis show and shopping, best way to spend an amazing day with the girls. (Note the skirt I’m wearing, bet you’d never have guessed it was only $15 if it wasn’t for me having told you.)

One door closes…another door opens. When God leads you to the edge of the cliff, trust Him fully and let go, only 1 of 2 things will happen, either He’ll catch you when you fall, or He’ll teach you how to fly! God is going to shift things around for you today and let things work in your favor. God closes doors no man can open & God opens doors no man can close…   Revelation 3:8

 

-tal xo

 

Leave a Reply

