Summertime Styles

It’s summer!!!! I don’t want to brag, or make anyone jealous but I just need to mention how super excited I am about having my first summer off. Anyone who works for the school board knows how exciting of a day it is when July 1 comes… SCHOOL’S OUT!!! And school being out calls for the cottage, beach, yoga and healthy eats. And how can we forget, condo shopping!

Don't waste a minute of summer...it will be gone before we know it. Enjoy & appreciate the little things.
Don’t waste a minute of summer…it will be gone before we know it. Enjoy & appreciate the little things.

Now that I have all the time in the world, I can hunt for amazing deals for my new place. I needed a couch. A couch in a small condo is a main focal point, so I thought it was going to take me months to find exactly what I was looking for. Until…I turned the corner at Homesense (I know, totally not where I expected to find my couch) and bam the new love of my life, right before my eyes. I had to buy it, I couldn’t walk away. It was absolutely perfectly perfect. It was girly, classy and just the right colour. I had wanted a white couch but started to realize that was very unrealistic. I talked to my interior designer (speaking of which, who has watched Decked Out? A show on HGTV. Well the designer on the show, is also MY interior designer, slightly pumped about that) and she suggested buying a grey-white couch that was textured and would be a lot more forgiving to any kind of dirt. So when I saw this couch, it had Tali written all over it. And to top it all off, the tufting are crystals!!! I said what?! Yes you heard me… Crystals!!!! Amazing.

Love it. Classy and stylish. And will fit perfectly in my condo. Next on the hunt: A chaise.
Love it. Classy and stylish. And will fit perfectly in my condo. Next on the hunt: A chaise.

So while I’m condo shopping, I also have to keep my eyes open for cute summer outfits. No matter where I go, especially during summer I think it is important to look good because it makes you feel better about yourself. As busy as you may be, it is important to find those extra 10 minutes to do your hair, or make up or pick out a cute outfit. Even if you’re just going to the grocery store. When you feel confident about how you’re looking, it can help you feel confident about how you’re feeling as well. I know there are many people out there who would strongly disagree with me, that it doesn’t matter how you look its the inside that counts. All I’m saying is that how you’re feeling about your outer appearance, can really help with how you’re feeling about yourself inside.

I love the maxi look. I posted a black maxi dress on another post, and now I have a maxi skirt that I just love. The colour is fun, you can wear it just about anywhere AND its super comfy. My mom bought it in the states for me on sale for $15…how could you go wrong! (You don’t have to spend a lot of money to look good, and really it’s cheaper than a therapist right!?) Kohl’s, Target and TJ Maxx are all fantastic stores in the states to check out for summer dresses and skirts. (But remember, your entire outfit can not all come from one of these stores, you need to mix in quality pieces in order to ensure your outfit doesn’t LOOK like it came from one of these stores.)

Super cute, right!? And $15, how can you go wrong!?
Super cute, right!? And $15, how can you go wrong!?

Another tip, check out random little shops. I absolutely love going shopping downtown Elora on Mill street. If you’re not from around here, make a day trip this summer to Elora to do a little shopping. It’s amazing what you can find in little shops. I found this dress last summer at Random Joy on Mill Street and fell in love with it. It’s longer at the back and shorter at the front. The pattern on it is so flattering since the lines aren’t vertical, they’re on a diagonal which is key to looking slim. This dress I have worn wedges with, flip flops, and birks. Dressed it up with jewelry and kept it low key with just a couple of bracelets. If you see something that looks cute, TRY IT ON. It almost always looks even better on than on the hanger, don’t be a lazy, scared to try on shopper. Get your butt in that dressing room and try the dress on!! It’s amazing how quickly you can fall in love with an outfit when you actually try it on.

Perfect dress to wear on Wine Tours for a bachelorette.
Perfect dress to wear on Wine Tours for a bachelorette.

So now that you know what to wear, while your hanging out with friends on the deck, what do you drink? Well green tea lemonade of course. Starbucks has a delicious drink that I love ordering in the summer but I wanted to try making it myself so I know exactly what’s in it. (I have a slight paranoia about not knowing exactly what restaurants are putting into my food & drinks. How much extra unnecessary crap, sugar and preservatives, have they added?) Tazo Green Tea is the best green tea out there, it’s what they use at Starbucks but you can buy it at most grocery stores. Next time you pay $4 for a tea at Starbucks just think, you could have made the exact same tea at home and spent $7 on a whole box of tea. Anyways, back to the drink. Delicious sweet drink with NO sugar.

Green Tea Lemonade

Deliciousness. And NO sugar added!!!
Deliciousness. And NO sugar added!!!

Ingredients:

2 tazo green tea bags

1 lemon sliced

spoonful of raw honey

ice

Directions: Boil water and pour it into mason jar over two tea bags. Slice 1 lemon and put all slices into the mason jar. Add a spoonful of honey (or two spoonful’s depending how sweet you want it). Put in fridge over night. Pour over ice and voila. Deliciousness.

So yummy to drink with your girlfriends on a hot summer day on the deck, or at the cottage.
So yummy to drink with your girlfriends on a hot summer day on the deck, or at the cottage.

 

There you have it, tips on how to style your place, yourself and your drink. Remember, you CAN look and feel great, don’t be scared of change. Go outside of your comfort zone. Start cooking healthy, go buy a hot yoga pass, go shopping in the States. If not now, when?

“Staying focused on what you can’t do prevents you from discovering what you can.” – Baptiste Yoga

-tal xo

 

Leave a Reply

