Rain, Rain, Go Away…Or Stay.

Rain, rain go away, come again another day. As I was walking around at school doing duty and the little girls walking with me were singing this song, I thought you know what, I actually don’t mind a little rain now and then. Rain makes me feel like winter is over and spring is really here. So I’m ok with rain. As long as I have the proper (cute) attire to go along with the rain.

I’ve talked about both of these items before and I’m going to talk about them again. My ever so favourite North Face rain jacket which is so bright and fun AND I got for a super wicked deal. Along with the much loved Hunter boots. Why talk about these things again you ask? Well let me tell you. Because you need to go out and buy Hunters!!! I loved my Hunters in the winter, but I love them 10 times more right now. There’s rain, mud, wet snow…and I don’t want all my beautiful leather boots to get wet or muddy. I can walk through anything with my handy dandy Hunters and to top it all off, they’re stylish too!! (I would seriously like to thank the person who somehow made rain boots stylish, you’re the best.) Yes I’m very aware, that you can go to Wal Mart and buy a pair of rain boots for $20, but are they in style like Hunters? No, they are not. Also, can you wear your $20 Wal Mart/Target rain boots all winter and spring? No didn’t think so. And lastly, do your cheap rain boots last more than one spring? Nope, that’s what I thought. Check out Nordstrom they have Hunters 20% off right now. Whenever I have ordered from there I had my stuff shipped to the states, so I don’t know exactly what shipping will cost, but they do say it is low shipping costs as well they include duty in the final price so you won’t have any surprise fees. (Because lets be serious who likes getting an extra $20 bill after they’ve already spent $140.)

North Face Coat (on sale for $99 boooyeah) and Hunter boots (also on sale for $99). I sure love my sales.
North Face Coat (on sale for $99 boooyeah) and Hunter boots (also on sale for $99). I sure love my sales.

The coat. Everyone needs a rain coat. Do you really want to go out in the rain and mess up your hair right after you’ve spent all that time doing it? No, didn’t think so. And do you want to make yourself look all pretty and then throw on some ugly coat just because it has a hood? Nope, also didn’t think so. A stylish rain coat is an absolute must. The weather we go through, we can wear a rain coat so many times in the year AND you can wear it even when it’s not raining just because it looks so good. I highly, highly suggest checking out the North Face outlet store at Vaughan Mills (what what did I just tell you to go to Vaughan mills? No way. I never do that. Get there now.) Here’s a link to a really nice North Face jacket which is very similar to mine, except it costs $200 and mine was $99. Order online OR drive to the outlet, I highly suggest you take the drive. North Face rain jacket.  I would also suggest checking out Lululemon for a stylish rain coat. Or another option is somewhere like The Bay that has all different kinds of high end brands (and then you can pick up your Hunters there too). Just because it is raining, gives no one and I mean no one, any excuse to not have style and go out in public looking bad. And although I may give you the links to online shop, I don’t highly recommend it. You can find much better sales by getting your lazy butt off that computer chair and actually driving to an outlet mall to find a raincoat and Hunters ON SALE.

Next up, another thing I have already mentioned on my blog. Meatballs. I gave you the recipe for Turkey Meatballs. This week I changed up the recipe and loved it. So I have to share. I also tried an absolutely amazing fruit salsa on top of the meatballs which tasted out of this world. My Aunt makes the salsa and gave me a jar to try with the meatballs….wow. So delicious.

Chicken Meatballs

Chicken Meatballs. Delicious. And totally healthy!
Chicken Meatballs. Delicious. And totally healthy!

Ingredients:

1/2 cup gluten free bread crumbs (or normal bread crumbs for non gluten free)
1 lbs (one package) lean ground chicken
1 large egg
1 tbsp ginger
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/4 cup chopped fresh kale
1/4 cup finely chopped white onion
2 tsp sesame oil
1 tbsp low sodium soy sauce (this is NOT gluten free, leave it out if soya sauce bothers your tummy)

Directions: Turn oven on to 500F. Mix all ingredients in a bowl. Mix together with (clean) hands. Roll into balls. Bake for 15-20 minutes on wax paper on a baking sheet.

Topping: Fruit Salsa

My yummy jar of fruit salsa.
My yummy jar of fruit salsa.

15 medium tomatoes
3 onions
3 peaches
3 pears
1 stick celery
1 red pepper
2 cups raw sugar
2 cups vinegar
1 Tbsp salt
1 oz. Pickling spices (tied in cheese cloth bag)

Directions: Chop all ingredients, place in large pot and slow boil for approx. 3 hours until juice is reduced to the consistency you like. Boil jars in canner. Makes 8 small jars. (I did not make the salsa myself, my amazing Aunt Linda made it for me, so if you have canning questions, ask your Mom or Grandma and I bet they can help out!)

There it is. Deliciousness in a bowl. Chicken meatball with fruit salsa to top it off. Yum.
There it is. Deliciousness in a bowl. Chicken meatball with fruit salsa to top it off. Yum.

Once you get home from a day out looking so stylish in your rain gear, make a yummy meatball appetizer for all your friends with a delicious fruit salsa on top, the only problem you’ll have is that your friends are going to want to come over every night for your deliciously healthy snacks.

-tal xo

 

Leave a Reply

