It’s SPRING!

Spring calls for healthy salads and dresses! I love spring. It’s probably my favourite season, for two reasons. My birthday is in spring (and boy do I love my birthday, well except this years because 25 sounds a little scary) and it means for warmer, sunny weather. Although I love summer, it flies by so fast that if all I looked forward to was summer, I am going to miss out on a lot of enjoyment. So I love spring. I can look forward to spring. Every winter storm we have in February, March and sometimes April, I think it’s almost spring!! And technically, today is spring. But by the looks of things outside, someone forgot to let the weather man know that this horrible weather is supposed to stop.

This is what spring looks light. Flowers. Bright colours. And happy faces (: One of these days, we will look outside and see this. (Well you may not exactly see pot people, but hey it'd be pretty cool if you did right!? How cute and happy are they!?)
This is what spring looks light. Flowers. Bright colours. And happy faces (: One of these days, we will look outside and see this. (Well you may not exactly see pot people, but hey it’d be pretty cool if you did right!? How cute and happy are they!?)

I love wearing sandals and cute little sockless running shoes. Spring outfits are so cute. But my favourite of all, is dresses. Spring dresses, summer dresses, any kind of dress. For anyone who knows me, they know that I could probably wear a dress every single day of the summer without once putting on a pair of shorts or pants. I love dresses that much. And while shopping at non other than Vaughan Mills, a dress caught my eye. It was so cute, and so spring looking. Really, I didn’t even want to try it on I just wanted to buy it. But to make sure the size was ok, I tried it on. It was regular $60 And I bought it for $35. (Plus I got an extra 10% off for showing my CAA card, you can use your CAA card at Banana Republic and Gap outlets, even in the states! Horray for deals!!) I figured $35 for a spring dress, from Banana Republic was a really good deal. Because really, why is a dress even on sale already? The shock of seeing it on sale before spring or summer are even here forced me to buy it. (Like anything needed to “force” me to buy a dress, come on no matter what I was going to buy this supper cute dress even if the sale was only $1 off.)

I love this dress. How cute is it!? Poka dots just remind me of nice weather, I'm not sure why, but they do. Now...when can I wear it!?!?!?
I love this dress. How cute is it!? Poka dots just remind me of nice weather, I’m not sure why, but they do. Now…when can I wear it!?!?!?

For Spring, this dress can be paired with a cute little cardigan for your family Easter get together or for Church. And once summer hits, this dress doesn’t need anything added. (Other than jewelry if you want to dress it up.)

Next up comes my favourite of all favourite salads. I’ve talked about Quinoa before and here’s a link to go back and read the benefits of quinoa. It’s a fantastic, amazing, delicious food. And makes for absolutely amazing salads. Like I’ve said in other posts, you can pretty much add anything and everything you have in your veggie bin into a Quiona salad. But here’s what I use in mine. (I am not going to give amounts because it really depends on how big or small the salad is and how much you like each ingredient. The more quinoa/bigger the salad, the more of each veggie you use.)

I. Love. Avocado. I've posted this picture before, I'm posting it now, and I'll post it again. Yum, yum, yum. Avocado is yummy. The colour itself, is so bright that it makes me happy.
I. Love. Avocado. I’ve posted this picture before, I’m posting it now, and I’ll post it again. Yum, yum, yum. Avocado is yummy. The colour itself, is so bright that it makes me happy.

Avocado Quinoa Salad

Ingredients:
Quinoa
Avocado
Grape tomatoes
Spinach
Celery
Red pepper
Cucumber
Chick peas
Chia seeds
Fresh lemon
Olive oil
Sea salt
Pepper

Directions: Cook the quinoa as directed on package, then put into a container into the fridge to cool off. Cut up all of the ingredients into small pieces. Mix the quinoa and veggies all together. Add 1tbsp or so of chia seeds and mix together. Add freshly squeezed lemon juice, a drizzle of olive oil and sea salt and pepper. Voila.

Dresses 2

There’s your delicious, tasty, avocado quinoa salad. This makes for a perfect lunch to bring to work. Make a big enough bowl of this salad that you can bring it to work for the next couple of days. (But keep in mind, the quinoa does go mushy and bad if you don’t eat it quick enough. I suggest cooking 2-3 cups of quinoa at a time so you will eat the salad before it goes bad. Unless you’re like me who eats this salad every time I walk by the fridge, then make a bit more.)

The best part about this salad, is although it may look a little funny to some guys, once you convince them to try it, they love it. I bring this salad everywhere I go in the summer. When I go to friends cottages, I bring this salad (and a nacho dip, that’ll be on another blog). When I have a dinner date with friends, I bring this salad. When we go camping, I bring this salad. It’s so easy to make at home, put in a tuperwear container and bring wherever you’re going. Bring along a fresh lemon to squeeze on right before serving. You wouldn’t believe how many of my friends boyfriends and brothers, I forced to try it and once they did they loved it. I brought this salad to my friends cottage, and there was a lot of guys there. I figured my friend and I would be the only two to eat it, but I noticed that all the guys had this salad on their plate when they came outside to eat, and when I went in to get more it was gone. I was SO excited!!!! I get excited over very odd things, and this is one of them. When people who don’t generally eat salads, love a salad I make.

So you don't eat healthy, so what? That was yesterday. Change what you eat NOW. Forget about the past, and focus on today. It is never too soon to drive to the grocery store and buy a cart full of healthy, natural, foods. If Not Now, When? (hint hint the answer is TODAY!!)
So you don’t eat healthy, so what? That was yesterday. Change what you eat NOW. Forget about the past, and focus on today. It is never too soon to drive to the grocery store and buy a cart full of healthy, natural, foods. If Not Now, When? (hint hint the answer is TODAY!!)

Make this salad all spring and summer long, I’m telling you it’ll be a hit!

So if everyone doesn’t mind, please pray for spring weather to actually show up. I want to wear dresses and sandals more than anything and eat my quinoa salad outside on the deck under the sun.

-tal xo

One thought on “It’s SPRING!

Leave a Reply

