Morning Muffins & More Lulu.

I’ve talked about breakfast before, and I’m going to talk about breakfast again. (And to be honest, probably again in the future.) I posted a recipe on the blog that involved makings eggs. I love eggs, my morning isn’t complete unless I eat my two poached eggs. And if it wasn’t for those two eggs, I would be a starving grumpy mess and the kids in my class would not be happy campers. But, I understand that not everyone has the stomach to eat a big breakfast like eggs early in the morning. I hear over and over people telling me they aren’t hungry in the morning. (I have a hard time believing this because when I wake up I’m STARVING. I think you just need to train your body, so it gets use to eating a big breakfast at 7am.) But since this is what my readers are telling me, I’ll come up with a healthy solution. If your excuse is you’re too busy to make eggs, well that’s bs. I don’t buy it, set your alarm clock 10 minutes earlier so you can make breakfast and be healthy. (Remember I don’t buy “I’m too busy to be healthy”.) But I will buy that your stomach just can’t handle a big breakfast. So I have a solution for you. Breakfast muffins. You can prepare these in advance so you have no excuse for “not having time” and they’re light so they won’t be too much for your non hungry tummy.

Well ain't that the truth. And that picture is exactly why when a child in my class says they didn't eat breakfast and want a snack I say yes, yes, yes go eat something!!!! But this doesn't just go for children, it goes for adults too. Don't you want your full body mind and soul to be at work and ready to be the best you can be? Think about it.
Well ain’t that the truth. And that picture is exactly why when a child in my class says they didn’t eat breakfast and want a snack I say yes, yes, yes go eat something!!!! But this doesn’t just go for children, it goes for adults too. Don’t you want your full body mind and soul to be at work and ready to be the best you can be? Think about it.

Eating a healthy, well balanced breakfast will help you from suffering from low blood sugar and prevent those late afternoon energy crashes. Who really enjoys having afternoon energy crashes where you think the only thing that will get you through the day is an extra large coffee (yuck). There’s ways to prevent those crashes, such as breakfast. It’s important to eat a healthy protein within an hour of waking up. These muffins include coconut flower which is an amazing source of protein, and healthy fats from coconut oil and chia seeds.

Delicious, healthy ingredients. Isn't it great knowing exactly what you're eating? I sure wonder what all they put into a Tim Horton's muffin....yuck. (For all of you with kids, they will love these muffins as breakfast or as a snack in their lunch, AND they're way cheaper then stopping at Tim's and buying everyone a yucky, gross, unhealthy muffin.)
Delicious, healthy ingredients. Isn’t it great knowing exactly what you’re eating? I sure wonder what all they put into a Tim Horton’s muffin….yuck. (For all of you with kids, they will love these muffins as breakfast or as a snack in their lunch, AND they’re way cheaper then stopping at Tim’s and buying everyone a yucky, gross, unhealthy muffin.)

Apple Oat Muffins

Ingredients:
1 cup oats
¼ cup Quiona flakes (if you don’t have these you can always use the normal oats instead, they’re just a bit heavier)
½ cup coconut flour
¼ cup raw natural sugar
1 tsp chia seeds
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
2 tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp sea salt

2 apples (shredded)
2 eggs
1 cup unsweetened almond milk
¼ cup coconut oil (melted)
1 tsp vanilla extract

The mixture before it is mixed. I love fresh apples in muffins.
The mixture before it is mixed. I love fresh apples in muffins.

Directions: Set oven to 350F. Mix together all the dry ingredients. Then add the wet ingredients. Leave the mixture to sit for approx. 10min in order for the chia seeds to adsorb the liquid. Pour mixture into muffin tins. (Either use muffin holders or oil the pan.) Bake for 25 minutes. Cool for 10 minutes.

Apple Oat Muffins Complete.
Apple Oat Muffins Complete.

You now have 12 breakfasts complete. How simple and easy is that?! Make sure to freeze these muffins a day or two after baking as they will go bad otherwise. Also, if you’re not gluten free I would still highly suggest using the coconut flour instead of regular flour as it is a much healthier choice. Using regular flour instead will take away the benefits in coconut flour, and then your breakfast will be lacking what you need most in the morning, protein.

Now that you have 12 muffins made and ready, you can grab one and stick it in your purse for when you’re starving at the mall. Check out the original recipe that I altered here, Original Apple Oat Recipe.

As I have talked about plenty of times, I love Lululemon. I went to the Vaughan Mills Mall Lulu the other day and they have a sale room. Lulu sale rooms are hard to find, most Lulus do not have a sale room and if you’re lucky will have one tiny rack of sales. (This is why you must, must, must go to Vaughan Mills.) The room was packed full of amazing sales. I would have bought 10 things if I let myself.

When I walked in the store I noticed a gorgeous sweater that looked so not “Lulu”. It was beautiful and stylish and not made from their typical luon material. But it was not in the sale room. Ugh. I didn’t even want to look at the price tag, but I did. $138. WHAT?!?!? People spend that much money on one sweater?!?! No way. That’s ridiculous. So I kept walking back to the sale room, only to find that sweater but in one of my favourite summer colours, orange and ON SALE!!!! I was so excited. On sale for $59. I hadn’t even tried it on yet and I was sold. Unfortunately (well, or fortunately) I saw a beautiful coat that I also loved. I checked out the price tag and it was regular $108 on for $49. I tried it on and yup take a guess…I loved it too. The detail of Lulu is fantastic. The side zipper gives it a great look. And it has just the right pockets, feels great, looks great. I could keep going, but I’ll stop.

Gorgeous right!?! The colour of this sweater is fantastic. The best part about this sweater, is I can cozy up in it on a cold winter night, or pair it with some white shorts or capri's and wear it in the summer. It's such a year-round sweater, meaning I will get way more use out of it. (That's what I like to spend my money on, items I can wear ALL the time.) Have I mentioned Lulu makes the MOST comfiest clothes in the world? This sweater isn't just stylish, but it feels amazing too.
Gorgeous right!?! The colour of this sweater is fantastic. The best part about this sweater, is I can cozy up in it on a cold winter night, or pair it with some white shorts or capri’s and wear it in the summer. It’s such a year-round sweater, meaning I will get so much use out of it. (That’s what I like to spend my money on, items I can wear ALL the time.) Have I mentioned Lulu makes the MOST comfiest clothes in the world? This sweater isn’t just stylish, but it feels amazing too.

Lululemon does not just have work out clothes (although their work out clothes are amazing and I would wear nothing to hot yoga but lulu). But aside from that, they have some really great stylish, non work out clothes as well. And on sale! If you have a spare day, check out the Lululemon sale room at Vaughan Mills. Do it. Soon. Like tomorrow. Stop thinking about it and GO.

Yes. I'm aware. I'm obsessed with coats, especially Lulu coats. But come on. Look at this, so totally cute! I told you Lulu has much more than just work out clothes! And how do you beat the 49 dollar price tag, oh yeah, you can't!
Yes. I’m aware. I’m obsessed with coats, especially Lulu coats. But come on. Look at this, so totally cute! I told you Lulu has much more than just work out clothes! And how do you beat the 49 dollar price tag, oh yeah, you can’t!

And just to end this post off, I too once in awhile indulge in a delicious piece of Raspberry White Chocolate Vanilla birthday cake, here is a picture to prove it. (I had to stay on the elliptical a little bit longer today, but so worth it to enjoy that piece of cake.)

It was my sisters 27th birthday yesterday, I couldn't not eat a piece of her cake. That would be rude, right? PS for all of those times when I talk about my sisters husband, judging and making fun of everything I cook...that's him. Meet Ryan. The guy who can judge every bit of food you put in front of him. (Unless your name is Mary Kate, who apparently is an amazing cook, and Ryan will try anything she makes.)
It was my sisters 27th birthday yesterday, I couldn’t not eat a piece of her cake. That would be rude, right? PS for all of those times when I talk about my sisters husband, judging and making fun of everything I cook…that’s him. Meet Ryan. The guy who can judge every bit of food I put in front of him. I think I am going to try making something totally crazy unhealthy and see if he still judges it. (Unless your name is Mary Kate, who apparently is an amazing cook, and Ryan will try anything she makes. How rude, eh? I’m his most favourite sister-in-law and he won’t even try what I cook.)

I’m telling you, eat healthy and go shopping. You won’t regret it for a second. (I never do.)

-tal xo

One thought on “Morning Muffins & More Lulu.

Leave a Reply

