Chicken Pot Stew & Lulu

Who doesn’t love comfort style cooking? But… (I’m sorry, there’s always a but isn’t there?) if you like healthy; comfort style home cooking can be difficult. Until now! I have a recipe that is so beyond delicious. I can’t even explain how yummy this meal is. It’s like chicken pot pie but without the crust (when I told my sisters husband this he made fun of me and said, well if there’s no crust then it’s not chicken pot pie), ok so we shall call it Chicken Pot Stew. Feel free to follow the recipe or do what I do best and add in your favourite ingredients to make it even tastier.

Chicken Pot Stew

Mmmm veggies make any meal yummy.
Mmmm veggies make any meal yummy.

Ingredients:
1/4 cup cornstarch
2 cups water
4 cups fat free milk
1 large celery stalk, chopped
1/2 medium chopped onion
8 sliced white mushrooms
fresh ground pepper
pinch of thyme
10 oz frozen classic mixed vegetables (peas, carrots, green beans, corn)
2 sweet potatoes (or 1 large one, depends how much potato you want) peeled and cubed small
2 cooked chicken breasts, diced small
salt

Directions: Bake the chicken breasts at 350F in a pan with an inch or two of water for approx. 45min or until cooked through (amount of time depends on the size and thickness of chicken).

Mix 1/2 cup cold water and corn starch, whisk and set aside.

Bring the rest of the water and milk to a boil. Add in all vegetables; celery, onions, mushrooms, potatoes and frozen veggies. Add in pepper and thyme (a PINCH of thyme is key, too much thyme will take over the flavour of the whole recipe). Bring back to a boil, once it boils let simmer for approx. 20min or until veggies are soft (the sweet potatoes are usually what takes the longest). Add in chicken and stir. Add in the cornstarch and water mixture and stir. Let simmer for about 2-3 minutes until thickened. Add salt to taste.

So colourful and so delicious. Chicken pot pie, without the carbs of the "pie"!
So colourful and so delicious. Chicken pot pie, without the carbs of the “pie”!

Voila. Mmmmm. So yummy. I am not one to ever add bread to a meal (first off because gluten free bread sucks and second even for non gluten free people, bread just makes for unneeded extra carbs) BUT for any of your husbands or boyfriends who love a piece of bread with their meal (and it better be a homemade slice of bread, NOT a piece of white Wonder bread) this meal is perfect for that. It is also a great meal to make on a stormy day (and for any of us Canadians we’ve had about 5000 stormy days this winter). This recipe makes a large amount and is perfect to use the left overs for lunches. Pack them in individual serving sizes and freeze them so they’re easy to throw into your lunch. Check out this website for great recipes, I used her recipe and altered it to my liking. Great Recipes

In order to enjoy a home cooked savoury meal, you must be feeling comfy to enjoy it to its fullest. If you plan on eating this meal in your business clothes, don’t. This meal requires comfy track pants. Now, now, now…I do NOT mean ugly, old, ripped track pants. Me? No way.

This is NOT the kind of track pants I am talking about. I do not own track pants that look like this, yes they may be comfy but they do NOT look good. So throw yours out. Right now.
This is NOT the kind of track pants I am talking about. I do not own track pants that look like this, yes they may be comfy but they do NOT look good. So throw yours out. Right now.

I mean amazingly comfy, stylish Lululemon track pants. These pants, I’m telling you, oh-em-gee AMAZING. Not only are they by far the comfiest pants I own, but they look amazing too!! They’re great to wear too and from yoga, out for the day, movie night, in the winter or at the campfire in the summer, with running shoes or with Birkenstock’s (ok I’ll stop, but you get the point, these pants can be worn ALL the time). I am going to warn you, they are not cheap. But they are so worth every single penny.

Studio Pant. Amazing. My fav. Love love love them.
Studio Pant. Amazing. My fav. Love love love them. Try a pair on, and you will HAVE to buy them, they’re THAT comfy. Not to mention, make your bum look great which is impossible to do in yucky, old track pants. Or impossible to do if you have no bum like myself, but that’s besides the point.

Aren’t they beautiful? I can’t say enough great things about my Studio Pant from Lulu. I love them so much I got my sister totally hooked as well. (We often match on Sunday Funday wearing our studio pants, or as my brother likes to call them our “splash pants”…he’s so outta the loop, doesn’t realize what style is!) I do have a little tip if you really want these pants and can’t afford them. Very often the Lululemon outlet in Niagara Falls have these pants but in colours, on sale. Black and navy blue are very common and never go on sale, but if you want a bright blue pair or maybe turquoise then check out the outlet (yes, that means a drive to Niagara Falls, geez louise all I hear from people is “but I don’t want to drive that far” ok fine, don’t drive that far, but then you’re never going to get a deal). As for anyone who does want a normal colour, Lulu has FREE SHIPPING!!!! In both Canada and the States, so take full advantage of this!

If you’re going to eat a savoury, home cooked meal you might as well look good and feel good while doing so.

Ps GO CANADA GO!!!!!!

-tal xo

Leave a Reply

