Black Bean Brownies&Stylish Summery Shoes

Who doesn’t love brownies? I know I love brownies. But to be honest, since going gluten free I don’t think I actually have ate a brownie…well until now. Not only did I eat a gluten free brownie, but an absolutely delicious brownie!! AND the main ingredient is so totally random. Nope, not gluten free flour but black beans. I read this recipe and did not believe that there was any way the brownies actually tasted good, so I had to try it for myself. And I’m telling you, they taste so moist and so sweet, you would have no idea that there is no flour used and that they are made with black beans. Try the recipe, please just go make it right now. I promise you will like them. I had three very tough judges, waiting to try these brownies and ready to tell me they sucked, but guess what. They actually loved them, and had no idea they were made from black beans.

Who can tell me these don't look mouth watering good? They look like totally normal, yummy, tasting brownies...which they are!
Who can tell me these don’t look mouth watering good? They look like totally normal, yummy, tasting brownies…which they are!

Black Bean Brownies

Ingredients:
1 (14 oz) canned low-sodium black beans, rinsed and drained
2 large eggs
1/2 cup cocoa powder
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon apple sauce
1 tablespoon unsweetened almond milk
1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon of freshly ground coffee or instant coffee
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions: Heat the oven to 350F.  Mix all ingredients except the chocolate chips in a food processor. Once mixed, stir in half a cup of chocolate chips. (Just stir, do not mix using the food processor for this part.) Grease a 9 x 9 inch pan and pour the batter in. Sprinkle the remaining half cup of chocolate chips over top. Bake for 25-30 minutes. (They’re finished when the toothpick comes out clean.)

Here's the batter before it goes into the oven. The food processor takes no time at all to mix everything up, and it means no yucky chunks in the brownies.
Here’s the batter before it goes into the oven. The food processor takes no time at all to mix everything up, and it means no yucky chunks in the brownies.

Btw, feel free to try using raw cacao instead of real cocoa and let me know how it goes. I will be trying this the text time, as I always make a recipe as it tells me the first time and make changes from there. This recipe would get that much healthier by using raw cacao instead. And who doesn’t love healthier?!

Yum. Don't you want to go make them right now? Do it.
Yum. Don’t you want to go make them right now? Do it.

While you’re enjoying your yummy black bean brownies, it’s important to look super cute, right? (Well at least in my mind I must look super cute while eating brownies.) I recently bought these shoes which when styled properly can look great. (Can you tell I’m SO ready for summer, I’ve moved on from talking about boots and am already talking about sockless little shoes.) They were regular $68 on sale for $24 from DSW Shoes. DSW is such an awesome store, it has so many brand name shoes and boots for great prices. It is an American store, but what’s it hurt to travel to the States to do a little shopping? Like I’ve said before, you don’t find the amazing sales by shopping at your local mall (well unless your local mall is the Buffalo outlet mall).

Yes, I am aware there is still snow on the ground BUT if you work inside then why can't you dress like this? Do you really need to wear socks while working inside? Nope. If we all start dressing a little more summer-ish, maybe it will come sooner?
Yes, I am aware there is still snow on the ground BUT if you work inside then why can’t you dress like this? Do you really need to wear socks while working inside? Nope. If we all start dressing a little more summer-ish, maybe it will come sooner?

Since the sole of these shoes are pink, it is perfect to pair them with a pink shirt or sweater to bring out the colour. (Not to mention, my favourite colour!) Anyone can wear a typical pair of normal, boring shoes, but YOU can wear different stylish neat shoes.

Totally cute, right!?
Totally cute, right!?

Why eat black beans when you could eat them in the form of brownies? And better yet, why wear boring shoes when you can wear style?

-tal xo

Leave a Reply

