White Tees and Bumble Bees

Let’s start by talking about an item that every single person needs in their wardrobe. And that is a white tee. Whether it’s a t-shirt for summer or a long sleeve or 3/4 length white tee. A white tee can be matched with so many different outfits and works with so many different “looks”. Just by changing the scarf and nothing else it totally looks different. A white tee matches everything; bright pink pants, jeans, yellow shorts, black jeans…. It matches everything!!! Not only does it match, but it looks classy. By styling a white tee properly, an outfit can look very pretty and classy. Now when it comes to these white tees, it is important to buy a good quality one. A cheap white tee looks, well cheap. They’re see through, thin, get holes easily and don’t form to the body nicely. As for where to get a quality, nice white tee for a decent price, take a guess. I dare you. What store do you think I’m going to suggest? Yup!! You got it! Gap or J.Crew!!! Not only the Gap or J.Crew but the outlet version. Gap and J.Crew have amazing quality t-shirts and long sleeve shirts. (Btw if words are red/blue that means it is a link and will take you somewhere. For example to white tees on the Gap and J.Crew websites.) They feel so nice and look great on. In the picture I am wearing a 3/4 length white tee from the regular Gap (I know, crazy, yes I stepped foot in a non outlet store. It happens. Not often, but once in a blue moon). I walked right to the back of the store to the Sale section and found it on sale for $7. Yup. That’s right. $7. And let me tell you, it feels amazing on. I have multiple white 3/4 length tees from the Gap and I love them all. For anyone who thinks they struggle with fashion, buy 5 white tees from the Gap and or J.Crew and you’re golden. Switch up your scarves, switch up your boots and you’ll look fantastic. As I told my boyfriend (cause obv he totally cares and loves me telling him about fashion) a white tee can do wonders.

The same 3/4 length white tee with three different scarves. Not shown in this picture but also change up the boots to change the outfit even more.
The same 3/4 length white tee with three different scarves. Not shown in this picture but also change up the boots to change the outfit even more.

A little extra piece of advice, a white blouse can also work wonders in a similar way as a white tee. You can dress a white blouse up, or down and they look super classy. Well…not always. I’m talking a nice quality Gap or J.Crew white blouse, not one from Wal Mart that you wore as a 10 year old to sing in the choir in church. (Remember having to wear a white blouse and black pants, and putting on that awful, uncomfortable white blouse that your mom bought from Zellers?) So now you know my point, buy quality. Below I’m wearing a white blouse from no other than J.Crew. I think the original price was something like $85 and I paid $20. And I love it. Throw on a scarf and jeans and you’re good to go.

Absolutely love this white blouse. So casual but yet so classy.
Absolutely love this white blouse. So casual but yet so classy. Ps how cute is the scarf on the left? That’s a brand new J.Crew scarf, such a neutral colour that can be paired with everything. Love it.

Other than a white tee, what else is a must have in every persons house? Honey. I love honey. I’m addicted. (Honey is a good thing to be addicted to, right?) I seriously love it. My sisters husband picked me up a big jar about a month ago, not even, and it’s gone. So I went to get more the other night from none other than the Alma honey place, and this time I bought two big jars. And I stood in my kitchen when I got home and ate honey from a spoon. I told you, I love it. (The big jar is already a quarter gone and I’ve had it for 3 days.) Anyways what I’m getting to; first I learnt again tonight that microwaving honey kills all good enzymes so DON’T do it, if you really need to melt it put the jar on your stove when the oven is on. Next, like I’ve said before always always always buy raw, pure honey. Raw honey contains minerals, vitamins and enzymes that refined honey does not. 5 amazing benefits to honey (which should encourage you even more to eat it) are:

Increases athletic performance: Most of modern day athletes rely on carbohydrates for energy, and with 17 grams per tablespoon, honey is the ideal food to provide the energy boost your body needs during a workout. Recent studies have shown that honey is superior in maintaining glycogen levels and improving recovery time compared to other sweeteners.

Weight loss: Drinking warm water with honey and lemon on an empty stomach, before breakfast remove toxins, cleanses the liver and flush fat from the body. So, now that you’re drinking warm lemon water before breakfast you can add honey to it to benefit even more. (Oh no. Please don’t tell me some of you are still drinking your coffee instead? I’m telling you, you can still drink your coffee but do it AFTER you drink a glass of warm lemon, honey water. Please.)

Cough Suppressant: Honey has been used for centuries to cure sore throat and other symptoms of the common cold.

Prevents heart disease: Honey contains flavonoids and antioxidants which help reduce the risk of heart disease.

Beautiful skin: Honeys anti-microbial and anti-fungal properties, make it the ultimate skincare product. Moisturising and healing damaged skin cells, giving it a fresh new look. (Try Bert’s Bees products. They’re fantastic. The foot cream will have your feet and heels soft before you know it!)

For more info on benefits of honey check out: Benefits of Honey

Candy in a jar as I would like to call it. Delicious. Pure and raw.
Candy in a jar as I would like to call it. Delicious. Pure and raw. And only $8.50 per jar!!!! ($7.50 when I remember to bring the bottles back with me when I get more.)

Amazing. Such good benefits generally are related to a gross, unappealing food that people only eat because it’s healthy. But honey, honey tastes like candy!!! And has great benefits. A quick, easy way to increase your immune system is to add 1-2 tbsp of honey to your water bottle that you bring to work. Easy.

As I stood in my kitchen trying to think of what I could make with honey, I came up with a delicious idea. Baked Banana’s. YUM! They go amazing with french toast or pancakes, or on top of vanilla ice cream.

Pre baked bananas. Sliced with honey and cinnamon ready to go in the oven. Remember to place on tin foil, makes for less cleaning afterwards.
Before the bananas went into the oven. Sliced with honey and cinnamon ready to go in the oven. Remember to place on tin foil, makes for less cleaning afterwards.

Baked Bananas

Ingredients:

1 banana
honey
cinnamon

Directions: Slice the banana in half, drizzle honey over top. Sprinkle cinnamon. Bake at 400F for 10 minutes. A nice addition is to drizzle pure maple syrup over the bananas once they’re out of the oven. (This tastes like the most unhealthy, delicious dessert but is actually healthy! Yay for healthy that tastes good.)

On the left is gluten free blueberry pancakes with baked bananas and pure maple syrup. On the right, gluten free French toast with baked bananas and also pure maple syrup. The maple syrup I use is pure local, Alma made maple syrup. For any of you who are wondering what's so great about Alma, I hope you're now catching on. Pure, raw delicious foods.
On the left is gluten free blueberry pancakes with baked bananas and pure maple syrup. On the right, gluten free French toast with baked bananas and also pure maple syrup. The maple syrup I use is pure local, Alma made maple syrup. For any of you who are wondering what’s so great about Alma, I hope you’re now catching on. Pure, raw delicious foods.

Well, there it is. Bumble bees and white tees, two must haves. If you need directions to Alma to pick up some raw, pure delicious honey let me know.

-tal xo

.

One thought on “White Tees and Bumble Bees

  1. Hey now, Zellers was golden when you were little…lol.
    I bought a lovely new scarf in Vegas, think I will hide it. The one on the right in the pics above is also mine….from the Charleston, SC Slave Market. So there is mommy’s hint. Look for unique scarves on your travels. A much better trip souvenir than a tshirt.

Leave a Reply

