Fashion&Food – Plunger Plop Style

To start, lets explain one thing, what the Plunger Plop is. It’s an outdoor tournament, played on an outdoor ice rink, where teams play against each other throwing plungers into toilets. Sounds weird right? It is the funnest, best day of the entire year. Friends, drinks, food and SO much fun. Here’s a video to get a better idea of what the plop is all about. (Yup that’s right CTV news came and videoed the Plop that’s how cool it is.)

CTV News visits Alma….. Video about the Plop! (Some people call it the Plunger Toss, apparently the news liked the sound of Plunger Toss rather than Plunger Plop)

Now that you’re all aware of what the plop is (and realize how super cool it is) what do you wear to such an event? Well, really you can wear anything you want. Some people wear track pants, some wear snow suits, some wear bear suits (watch the video again and look for the bear suit, I’m not joking when I say people wear bear suits). I wear style. I mean come on, I can’t show up to this event looking like a non-stylish bum.

Notice that all four girls in this picture are all wear Lululemon tights. This proves one thing, that they rock. And worth every penny of the fairly expensive price tag.
Notice that all four girls in this picture are wearing Lululemon tights. This proves one thing; they rock. And worth every penny of the fairly expensive price tag.

I wore my amazing Roots black vest and my great Gap plaid scarf which everyone has seen in a previous post. But in all reality I wanted to be comfy, a long with stylish, so I had to scratch the jeans and switch them for the most amazing things I own.  Lululemon tights. They look amazing and are so comfy (and I actually wore two pairs of them to be even warmer) and wore a Lulu black luon sweater under the vest. Super cute, but also super comfy. The head band I wore was a $5 purchase from LOFT in Buffalo. I love head bands, they’re key to looking cute at any winter event. Also, my totally awesome and fun Ralph Lauren sunglasses that I got on sale at Sunglass Hut. I am all about expensive sunglasses, they’re worth spending the money (as long as they’re on sale) because it means they will last SO much longer than a pair of cheap ones. I’ve had these sunglasses for over a year and they’re still in perfect shape. And lastly my boots. (Which got cut off in this picture, I forgot to tell the photographer I needed a full length outfit blog photo, so below is a picture of the boots.) No they are not my Hunters, but something similar. Bogs. They’re a bit warmer than my Hunters and I love how they look. Plain and simple. Tall black boots.

Here they are. Warm AND stylish. I bought these on sale for $99 at Browns at Vaughan Mills Mall.
Here they are. Warm AND stylish. I bought these on sale for $99 at Browns at Vaughan Mills Mall.

Next up on the list of must haves at the Plop, Food. Not just food but gluten free food. Lunch time at the Plop is a pot luck, crock pot style lunch. I made gluten free Mac n Cheese. Delish. Such an easy but delicious meal to bring.

The ONLY brand of gluten free pasta I will buy. I have wasted so much money trying gluten free pastas that I end up throwing out. Trust me on this one, buy this brand. It's available at Wal Mart, some Freshco's, some Foodlands. Keep an eye out for it, and if you see it on sale, stock up!!
The ONLY brand of gluten free pasta I will buy. I have wasted so much money trying gluten free pastas that I end up throwing out. Trust me on this one, buy this brand. It’s available at Wal Mart, some Freshco’s, some Foodlands. Keep an eye out for it, and if you see it on sale, stock up!!

Ingredients:
1 bag of gluten free pasta
1/2 a block of cheese
Some butter
1/4 cup milk
Sea salt and pepper to taste

Cook the pasta (follow instructions on bag). Drain and rinse with cold water. Let the pasta cool. Put a layer of pasta into a baking dish. Add cheese and a couple chunks of butter. Add more pasta. Add more cheese. Add a couple chunks of butter. Keep going until all the pasta is in the dish. Add 1/4 cup milk over the whole dish. Bake at 350 for approx. 45 minutes or until the cheese is melted and baked. And if you’re bringing it to a pot luck, move the pasta into a crock pot. Done and delicious.

Mmmmm. Delish. (My non gluten free friend even tried it and loved it!)
Mmmmm. Delish. (My non gluten free friend even tried it and loved it!)

Next up is dessert. Peanut butter corn flake squares. (These are by no means healthy, but a super yummy treat.)

Ingredients:

1 cup gluten free corn syrup
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 cup peanut butter
6 cups corn flakes
(now this is a touchy ingredient, no Kellogg’s Corn Flakes are not “Gluten Free” but they are very low, they have a flavouring used which is not gluten free. Because I am just intolerant I do not find that the corn flake squares bother my stomach at all.)

Peanut Butter Corn Flake Squares. An absolute must try.
Peanut Butter Corn Flake Squares. An absolute must try.

Mix corn syrup, brown and white sugar together. Microwave until mixture comes to a boil. Next add the peanut butter and stir. Lastly add the corn flakes. Stir and put into a 10 x 13 Tupperware container. Then put somewhere that is cold but not a fridge. A fruit cellar or garage is a good place, for a couple of hours. OR eat right away (they just might be extra sticky and harder to cut without cooling). Yum. Cornflake squares.

So if you’ve never been involved in the Plunger Plop, put it on your bucket list. (Because let’s be serious, don’t you want to throw plungers while looking good and eating all this delicious food?) No ones life is complete until they’ve played in the Plop.

-tal xo

Leave a Reply

