Coats, Coats and more Coats!

So I have a confession. I am absolutely obsessed with coats, and I honestly deep down feel that if I see a beautiful coat on sale and don’t buy it I’m going to get in big trouble. (I’m not exactly sure who is going to get me in trouble? But somebody is.) So what I’m saying, when I see a pretty coat on sale, well I buy it.

I'd have to completely disagree. There's a library for a reason. Borrow the book, buy the coat.
I’d have to completely disagree. There’s a library for a reason. Borrow the book, buy the coat.

This brings me to another obsession (I can’t believe I’m admitting my obsessions to everyone) which is sales at Lululemon. For some reason if I see something on sale at Lulu, even if it is on sale for $80 I think it’s a deal. Lulu coats are the best things in the world, so I think this is why I justify it. I have way too many coats from Lulu and I still love every single one, even the ones from years ago. But never, ever buy a coat NOT on sale from this store, don’t ever do it. They’re nice but not 399 dollars nice. Go into Lulu as often as possible to hunt for deals, search online on the “we made too much” site, the more you look the more you’ll find deals.

On the left is by far one of my most worn coats. I bought it years ago for $150 from Lulu and the regular price was something crazy. This coat can be dressed up, dressed down, rain jacket, warm-ish jacket. It's just great. To the right is my most fun jacket. And it's beyond perfect for throwing on after hot yoga.
On the left is by far one of my most worn coats. I bought it years ago for $100 from Lulu and the regular price was something crazy. This coat can be dressed up, dressed down, rain jacket, warm-ish jacket. It’s just great. To the right is my fun jacket. And it’s beyond perfect for throwing on after hot yoga. I think I paid on sale around $80 but Lulu’s quality makes it so worth every penny.

Recently I purchased a super cute coat that has the best detail to it (and this, this is why I love lulu, they don’t miss a thing). It fits just the perfect way, it has the perfect bows, and feels so soft. And the best part? It was ON SALE!!!!! I’m actually so surprised at how many people say to me, “what, you got lululemon on sale?” Yes people! Lululemon goes on sale, don’t let them trick you into thinking you have to spend $250 on a coat! This coat below I found at the outlet in Niagara Falls (go there as soon as possible, please, it’s amazing). I paid only $69!!!

How cute is this?! Every last detail is made just perfectly perfect. Lulu never screws up, they sure know what they're doing.
How cute is this?! Every last detail is made just perfectly perfect. Lulu never screws up, they sure know what they’re doing.

I feel as though coats can either make or break an outfit, which brings me to my main thought about coats. Almost always you need to buy coats that have a high price tag (but you of course buy them on sale). There are many, many coats out there worth $25 and let me tell you, they look like they’re worth $25. Never ever buy a coat for the original price tag if it’s a cheap price tag, it won’t be nice. This coat below I found in Buffalo at the Fashion Outlets at J.Crew, yes my other favourite store other than Lululemon and it was priced at something ridiculous like $250. I fell in love. I was so in love I almost wanted to pay $250. But seriously who pays $250 for a coat? That’s absurd. And then, the moment that I almost did a happy dance, looking up and seeing the 30% off sign and being a kindergarten teacher I also get an extra 15% off everything (now do you understand even more why I love J.Crew?!). I did the math and with the exchange rate and tax it was going to cost me approx $160. So I did it. I bit the bullet and paid way more than I’ve ever paid for a coat. And oh boy let me tell you it was SO worth it. If you don’t have a coat like this, find one and buy it. It can be casual, it can be fancy, it can be worn to work, it can be worn for family photos. This coat is so versatile and so worth every penny. One piece of advice, if you’re going to spend money on a good coat make sure you can wear it all the time.

Absolutely adorable right?! Do you now understand why I wanted to pay $250 for it?!
Absolutely adorable right?! Do you now understand why I wanted to pay $250 for it?!

Lastly we come to by far one of my favourite coat purchases ever. Below you will find the most gorgeous coat from The North Face. I rarely go into that store because I refuse to spend what the coats cost (yes I’m aware they’re super warm, and yes I know they are good quality but no I will not spend $400 on a coat). So one day shopping at Vaughan Mills mall, which btw is an amazing outlet mall, my mom and I went into North Face. Out jumped this coat. I wanted it so bad and I had yet to see the price. Oh I was scared, I was real scared I was in love with something that could have an absolutely ridiculous price tag on it. But it was my lucky day, it was on sale for $99. Sold. Done. $99 for a North Face coat!? That’s unheard of! Two words for you: OUTLET MALL. They are so my favourite place on earth. I bet this exact same coat was $300 at a regular North Face store. Yes Vaughan Mills may be an hour and a half away, but the deals you will find and the money you will save is so beyond worth it.

Love it, love it, love it. That is all.
Love it, love it, love it. That is all.
This shows how easily you can turn a "rain coat" into a piece of fashion. Pair it with the right boots and voila, gorgeous. (Have I mentioned how much I love this coat?)
This shows how easily you can turn a “rain coat” into a piece of fashion. Pair it with the right boots and voila, gorgeous. (Have I mentioned how much I love this coat?)

If you can take anything away from this post it’s that of two things; coats are a VERY important piece of your wardrobe and outlet malls should be the number one address in your GPS.

-tal xo

3 thoughts on “Coats, Coats and more Coats!

    1. Oh yes…. Purses, I do like purses. I’ll have to do a post on them. As for dresses, I’ve already been thinking about that but I’ll maybe wait until closer to spring. Or perhaps do a winter dresses and summer dresses, I do have enough for two posts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

