Fashion&Food – Cottage Style

My family decided that we should spend Sunday Funday (which turned into the whole weekend) at our cottage in Williamsford. With it being winter comes a couple of freezing cold hours of waiting for the wood stove to warm the entire cottage up. And come on you didn’t really think I could just throw on track pants and a sweater did you?

Cozy, warm, stylish scarf perfect to keep me warm at the cottage. And note how long the vest is, covers my bum and lengthens my body instead of making me look boxy like a normal length vest does.
Cozy, warm, stylish scarf perfect to keep me warm at the cottage. And note how long the vest is, covers my bum and lengthens my body instead of making me look boxy like a normal length vest does.

I recently went shopping and got the best deal on that beautiful vest and scarf. The black vest is from Roots, tag price was $88 and I bought it for $19 (hello sale of the season, who doesn’t love Roots and if you haven’t noticed vests have totally came back into style which I am super happy about). The scarf I’m wearing is from the Gap, tag price was $34 and I bought it for $19. I fell in love with this scarf back in December while Christmas shopping and wanted it so bad but could not justify spending $34 on one scarf…so I did the one thing I always do, waited! (What have I told you, always always hold your horses and wait for a SALE!!) And let me tell you it was so beyond worth the wait, this is the softest, warmest, most stylish scarf ever. Lastly, I am wearing the loves of my life, my hunter boots. I can’t say enough good things about these boots. They’re not only stylish but they work for the entire year, who else has a pair of boots that can be worn year round?! This is why they are totally worth the high price tag, but wait…you didn’t actually think I paid full price, did you? I searched high and low for a sale on Hunters and finally found a deal. Generally, they’re approximately $160 for the boots and $50 for the socks. I paid (taxes and shipping in) $135!!! The only thing I regret is not buying an amazing bright red pair too. Now you all must get out there and start searching for Hunters on sale, no ones closet is complete without a pair of Hunters.

Along with cottage fashion comes cottage FOOD, and generally by no means healthy food and definitely not gluten free food. (Btw for all following, I am only gluten intolerant so some of my recipes may have traces of gluten.) So with travelling anywhere in order to eat healthy and or gluten free you must plan ahead and think outside the box at the grocery store. We started with lunch, I brought a gluten free pizza crust and made an absolutely delicious yummy pizza. What’s easier than that?! It took about 5 min to whip up.

Items for gluten free pizza:

-gluten free pizza dough (I bought it at this bakery in Guelph and it was delicious! http://www.luciesbakery.com/ )                                                                                                                                                                                     -pizza sauce  -cheese  -any toppings you like

The crust was so fluffy and yummy, unlike some cardboard tasting pizza crusts I've had in the past.
The crust was so fluffy and yummy, unlike some cardboard tasting pizza crusts I’ve had in the past.

Lastly came supper, which involved way too much unhealthy pub food while watching the leaf game. So me being me, I had to make something that was yummy healthy and delicious as a side and what better than stuffed peppers?! Stuffed peppers are good for so many reasons: easy to make, healthy, gluten free, can be a main dish, side dish or prepare a few to freeze and bring them as lunches to work. (We had so much food that I now have 3 left over peppers to freeze for lunches for work!!! I love having frozen meals ready in the freezer to pack my lunch!)

Picture to the left is the sautéed veggies (how delish do they look?! I could have eaten just that!) Picture the the right is the mixture complete ready to be put in the peppers.
Picture to the left is the sautéed veggies (how delish do they look?! I could have eaten just that!) Picture to the right is the mixture complete ready to be put in the peppers.

Recipe:
-6 peppers (whichever colour you prefer)
-2-3 cups quinoa or rice (save money on quinoa by buying in bulk at Costco)
-1 pound ground turkey or little pieces of chicken
-lots of tomatoes (cut up in chunks)
-olive oil or coconut oil
-1 small zucchini
-half a small package mushrooms
-red onion
-a couple handfuls spinach
-garlic
-cayenne (however much you want depending on the amount of spice you like)
-fresh parmesan cheese
-sea salt and pepper

(If you haven’t noticed from this recipe I’m a throw it together, don’t measure anything kind of cook, really just put however much of each thing as you’d like.)

Cook the rice or quinoa and place to the side. Cook ground turkey or chicken and put to the side. (Choose to either use quinoa and no meat or rice with meat. If you use quinoa that is the protein.) Sauté zucchini, mushrooms, onion and garlic in either olive oil or coconut oil (coconut oil being the healthier choice). Then add tomatoes and spinach and let simmer for a couple minutes. Lastly add cayenne, sea salt, pepper, rice and cooked ground turkey to the sautéed veggies, let simmer for a couple minutes. Once sautéed and mixed scoop the mixture into the peppers and bake for 45 minutes at 350 or until soft. Add Parmesan cheese to the top with about 5 minutes left. Voila! Yummy stuffed peppers are complete.

And there they are...delicious stuffed peppers! Which let me tell you were a total hit! My sisters picky husband who never wants to try any of my healthy cooking, LOVED them!!!!
And there they are…delicious stuffed peppers! Which let me tell you were a total hit! My sisters picky husband who never wants to try any of my healthy cooking, LOVED them!!!!

And there it is, how to look good and eat even better at the cottage.

-tal xo

Leave a Reply

